No sound

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
telenux
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:52 am

No sound

Postby telenux » Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:51 pm

I tried a Live DVD LMDE but when I try audio, there's no sound at all.

I use a sound card, Audigy 2ZS, well supported. So, I would have to google and read the Debian forums or something?

I thought Mint would be tweaked to work with stuff like this. :|

At least, well supported hardware.

TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1365
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: No sound

Postby TBABill » Tue Jan 18, 2011 8:53 pm

Has sound worked out of the box on other distros but failed with the LMDE distro? Could you post some more info about the machine. Particularly, if you still have Linux available on it, the output from a terminal when entering the code

Code: Select all

lspci
What manufacturer and model computer? The brand name of a sound card will not tell which chipset it uses, but lspci should give you more specific info.

telenux
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:52 am

Re: No sound

Postby telenux » Tue Jan 18, 2011 10:43 pm

TBABill wrote:Has sound worked out of the box on other distros but failed with the LMDE distro? Could you post some more info about the machine. Particularly, if you still have Linux available on it, the output from a terminal when entering the code

Code: Select all

lspci
What manufacturer and model computer? The brand name of a sound card will not tell which chipset it uses, but lspci should give you more specific info.
Do you still want the hardware info?

I discovered it was the same issue as I had in Debian 'straight Debian 6/Squeeze.' I had to check or mute a setting and in Debian KDE, KMix settings, it's called 'Analog/Digital Output Jack.' I forget what the exact name it was in Linux Mint LMDE (I was using Live DVD) but the same equivalent setting being checked solved the sound problem and enabled sound.

I think the sound card is a Creative chipset, but lspci only gives: Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy (rev 04)

KMix shows it as SB0350. dmesg showed this: EMU10K1_Audigy 0000:05:00.0 .....

TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1365
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: No sound

Postby TBABill » Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:02 pm

Excellent, glad you got it sorted! Sometimes you also may need to go into alsamixer in a terminal window to make sure all your levels are set high enough to hear. Either way, happy it's working for you and you solved it yourself.

Best regards.

User avatar
salsalha
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: No sound

Postby salsalha » Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:46 pm

This worked for me:

http://liquorix.net/

this install liquorix kernel, and at least for me works all fine, like a charm

Greetings

User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: No sound

Postby seeley » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:20 am

Hi telenux!
Please read my help (link1 below), chapter III, S.
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot

telenux
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:52 am

Re: No sound

Postby telenux » Fri Jan 21, 2011 1:15 pm

salsalha wrote:This worked for me:

http://liquorix.net/

this install liquorix kernel, and at least for me works all fine, like a charm

Greetings
Didn't work for me and definitely didn't work like a charm.

User avatar
salsalha
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: No sound

Postby salsalha » Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:51 pm

telenux wrote:
salsalha wrote:This worked for me:

http://liquorix.net/

this install liquorix kernel, and at least for me works all fine, like a charm

Greetings
Didn't work for me and definitely didn't work like a charm.


Sorry to read that....

Brian96
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:15 pm

Re: No sound

Postby Brian96 » Sat Jan 29, 2011 6:48 pm

I could use some help with this issue, too. Sound has worked out of the box for every other distro I've tried on this machine, including the 3 other distros currently installed.

The PulseAudio settings manager gui shows the device and seems to behave as though it is working properly, but there is no sound. lspci also correctly identifies the device.

TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1365
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: No sound

Postby TBABill » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:39 pm

Sometimes it's just a matter of going into alsamixer in a terminal and raising the output levels of the speakers, headphone or whatever device is too low. I have a laptop I have to do that on with every new install...just type "alsamixer" in a terminal and then navigate to the various mixer settings and raise them as necessary. My speaker one is always set to 00, which is muted basically. That's the easy thing to try first.

gatLinux
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:04 pm

Re: No sound

Postby gatLinux » Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:09 pm

I have the same problem.

I buy this week one Crative Sound Blaster Audigy EX in eBay (2on hand), with LiveCD of Linux Mint 10 (ubuntu based) work perfect.

With the last LMDE nothing, and I have the same configuration like in LiveCD.

User avatar
abercrombieande
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:47 am

Re: No sound

Postby abercrombieande » Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:18 pm

Sometimes the hardware gets switched after an update. Go under Menu -> Preferences -> Sound and check the hardware tab.

gatLinux
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:04 pm

Re: No sound

Postby gatLinux » Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:26 pm

abercrombieande wrote:Sometimes the hardware gets switched after an update. Go under Menu -> Preferences -> Sound and check the hardware tab.


Thanks abercrombieande, this menu is correct. I have the same configuration like in Live CD of Mint 10, and don't work.

gatLinux
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:04 pm

Re: No sound

Postby gatLinux » Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:16 pm

Ok, I solved.

I install liquorix kernel, and nothing.

I remove all about alsa and pulseaudo with synaptic, reboot system, install only alsa, reboot system, and work!!!.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests