LMDE Kaffeine

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
giorgoslouk
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 6:59 am

LMDE Kaffeine

Postby giorgoslouk » Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:26 am

Hello everybody!!!!!
I'm looking for a working guide to install Kaffeine on my laptop.
Can anybody help?
Regards.

craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 554
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole
Contact:

Re: LMDE Kaffeine

Postby craigevil » Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:24 am

apt-get install kaffeine ? Or use Synaptic. It installs like any other package.

On a side note haven't used Kaffeine since kde3.5, smplayer is nicer and it downloads subtitles.
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi

gosa
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Spain

Re: LMDE Kaffeine

Postby gosa » Sun Feb 26, 2012 7:56 am

Or why not use Software manager, search for Kaffeine and hit "Install"?
- I did that myself a couple of days ago when I installed my dvb-t usb-stick.

Might be a bit "overkill" to install Kaffeine just to watch TV, but that's the best one I've found so far for managing TV.

User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 472
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE Kaffeine

Postby GregE » Tue Mar 27, 2012 6:27 am

me-tv works fine for simple TV viewing and recording, and it is a GTK program so no extra lib dependencies.

gosa
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Spain

Re: LMDE Kaffeine

Postby gosa » Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:04 am

GregE wrote:me-tv works fine for simple TV viewing and recording, and it is a GTK program so no extra lib dependencies.


Yeah, I have me-tv as well, but I can't seem to get it to work without giving me problems with interlacing (at least that's what I think it might be) no matter how I change the settings in the preferences.
So - I'm running kaffeine in my LXDE install with all the extra stuf it needs... funny thing is that running LM12 LXDE I couldn't get kaffeine to work with tv until I also installed me-tv (gave me codec errors).

User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 472
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: LMDE Kaffeine

Postby GregE » Tue Mar 27, 2012 5:50 pm

I switched me-tv to TV Time interlacing. Then restarted me-tv and it does the job well enough. Kaffeine has a lot more functionality if you have a lot of KDE installed anyway. I have both installed.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest