Update Manger "failed"

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
dr_zin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:43 am

Update Manger "failed"

Postby dr_zin » Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:02 pm

Its the little thing that matter.
'

Code: Select all

W:Failed to fetch http://packages.linuxmint.com/dists/debian/Release  Unable to find expected entry  universe/binary-amd64/Packages in Meta-index file (malformed Release file?)
, E:Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.


$ **** /etc/apt/sources.list...

Code: Select all

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import universe
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free
deb http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian squeeze contrib
## Depôt MultiSystem
deb http://liveusb.info/multisystem/depot all main

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2218
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Update Manger "failed"

Postby vincent » Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:35 pm

Code: Select all

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import universe


Get rid of "universe", as there is no universe repository for Linux Mint, so that it looks like this:

Code: Select all

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import


To edit your sources.list file:

Code: Select all

gksudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list


Indeed, it's the little things that matter, especially when the user goes and unintentionally breaks stuff. The "universe" entry is not there by default, nor should it be there, so either you messed up your sources.list yourself and you had a 3rd party tool mess it up for you. *shrug*
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm

User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1073
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Update Manger "failed"

Postby rivenathos » Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:43 pm

As a suggestion, you will probably get faster updates/downloads if you set your country code.

If you are in the USA:

Code: Select all

deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free


Notice where to insert the country code in the above example.

dr_zin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:43 am

Re: Update Manger "failed"

Postby dr_zin » Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:19 pm

Ok, Cool thank you. This can be marked solved.

vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2218
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Update Manger "failed"

Postby vincent » Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:28 pm

dr_zin wrote:Ok, Cool thank you. This can be marked solved.


You can do that yourself, by editing the title.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest