[SOLVED] How can the up Updater be scheduled

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
Kittum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Black Mesa, Oklahoma U.S.

[SOLVED] How can the up Updater be scheduled

Postby Kittum » Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:55 pm

I was wondering if and how can the updater be scheduled to operate while I am asleep.

Since I live away from any source of DSL, my Internet is via satellite. With my satellite service there is a 200 MB usage limit between 6 a.m. and 1 a.m. of the next day. Between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. you can download all that you are able to. I just checked my update thingy and this one is 126 MB. That is more that enough to put me over the 200 MB limit. On the other hand I do not feel like getting up at 0100 to hit the update button. To be more honest I don't want to have to let the dog out and back in, wonder where the cat went, run into the Christmas tree that is still up, and I surely DON'T want to accidentally wake up the wife at 0100.

Is there anyway to cause this to happen automatically at 0105?
Last edited by Kittum on Fri Dec 31, 2010 10:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
I did not like the looks from Vista and its sequel is an abuse of the number 7!
Image

User avatar
vrkalak
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4429
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: How can the up Updater be scheduled

Postby vrkalak » Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:17 am

Click on the icon and open MintUpdate.

Then, click on Edit, then Preferences.

This will open a new Preferences Window > select Auto-Refresh

From there you can schedule the days and times you want Mint-Update to search for New Updates.

But, this will just Notify you of any New Updates, through the MintUpdate icon -- you still have to 'click to install' them.
. . . . . . . . . .

I have my MintUpdate set, to refresh itself, and Notify every 6 hours.
Image
:: Debian-Sid (Xfce/Fluxbox) :: LinuxMint-18 (LTS) LXDE w/Openbox ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: My DeviantART Page

User avatar
Kittum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Black Mesa, Oklahoma U.S.

Re: [SOLVED] How can the up Updater be scheduled

Postby Kittum » Fri Dec 31, 2010 10:47 am

I can see the point of needing to approve the updates and the 'click to install' routine.

I just change the refresh timing to once a day.
I did not like the looks from Vista and its sequel is an abuse of the number 7!
Image


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests