LMDE won't update (Broken Packages :\)

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
CodyWD
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:15 am
Location: Missoula, MT
Contact:

LMDE won't update (Broken Packages :\)

Postby CodyWD » Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:29 pm

When I try to use mintUpdate, I get the error:
"Could not apply changes!
Fix broken packages first."

So I did the following in terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get autoclean

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get clean

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get upgrade


Found 500 or so packages to upgrade, so I let it download them all, and when it finished, I looked at terminal and it was at a screen that looked something like this:

Code: Select all

~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
(END)


And I couldn't do anything, so I closed terminal.
I then ran:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install -f
in terminal, and tried again on mintUpdate

Still the error, what must I do D:
Linux Mint Debian Edition 32-bit user with 1GB of RAM and a 149GB harddrive. Separate /home and / drives. Smart? I think so :)

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3969
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: LMDE won't update (Broken Packages :\)

Postby proxima_centauri » Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:46 pm

See the following thread for more information -> viewtopic.php?f=141&t=66960

User avatar
CodyWD
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:15 am
Location: Missoula, MT
Contact:

Re: LMDE won't update (Broken Packages :\)

Postby CodyWD » Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:48 pm

Thanks :) I'll reply if that worked, as I'm currently installing KDE hehe
Linux Mint Debian Edition 32-bit user with 1GB of RAM and a 149GB harddrive. Separate /home and / drives. Smart? I think so :)


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests