LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking TESTING

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Locked
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-6/o

Post by xircon » Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:17 am

Gerd

Installed, pulled in a load of dependencies. Backed my / partition up to my home partition.

:Edit:
Had to:

Code: Select all

 sudo cp /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/liblzma.so.2 /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/liblzma.so.1
To get it to work.

Other than that, everything back running OK, but I am running Metacity with compositing, rather than Compiz stand-alone as previously. Just have to wait for FGLRX to get fixed.

Cheers

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

stz*j
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 3:08 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-6/o

Post by stz*j » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:19 am

Gnome 3 in testing!! http://www.0d.be/debian/debian-gnome-3.0-status.html

Code: Select all

The following packages will be REMOVED:
  evince libbrasero-media0 libmetacity-private0 libnautilus-extension1
  nautilus-gksu totem-coherence
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  accountsservice apg gir1.2-gkbd-3.0 gir1.2-gmenu-2.0
  gir1.2-gnomebluetooth-1.0 gir1.2-networkmanager-1.0 gir1.2-panelapplet-4.0
  gir1.2-rb-3.0 gir1.2-totem-1.0 gir1.2-totem-plparser-1.0 gjs
  gnome-control-center gnome-control-center-data gnome-icon-theme-symbolic
  gnome-session-fallback gnome-shell gnome-themes-standard grilo-plugins-0.1
  ksh libaccountsservice0 libavahi-ui-gtk3-0 libbrasero-media3-1
  libdmapsharing-3.0-2 libedataserverui-3.0-0 libgjs0b libgnome-bluetooth8
  libgnome-control-center1 libgnome-media-profiles-3.0-0 libgnomekbd7
  libgrilo-0.1-0 libgucharmap-2-90-7 libgupnp-av-1.0-2 libmetacity-private0a
  libnautilus-extension1a libpackagekit-glib2-14 libpanel-applet-4-0
  librest-0.7-0 librhythmbox-core4 libtotem0 libunique-3.0-0 zeitgeist-core
The following packages have been kept back:
  python-aptdaemon
The following packages will be upgraded:
  brasero brasero-common ca-certificates compiz compiz-core
  compiz-gnome compiz-gtk compiz-plugins dmidecode dosfstools evince-common
  file-roller gdm3 gir1.2-pango-1.0 gir1.2-vte-2.90 gnome-applets
  gnome-applets-data gnome-bluetooth gnome-disk-utility gnome-media
  gnome-menus gnome-panel gnome-panel-data gnome-power-manager
  gnome-screensaver gnome-session gnome-session-bin gnome-session-common
  gnome-settings-daemon gnome-user-share gtk2-engines-pixbuf gvfs
  gvfs-backends gvfs-bin gvfs-fuse hpijs libdecoration0 libfreetype6
  libfreetype6-dev libgail-common libgail18 libgdu-gtk0 libgdu0 libglib2.0-0
  libglib2.0-bin libglib2.0-data libglib2.0-dev libgnome-menu-dev
  libgnome-menu2 libgtk2.0-0 libgtk2.0-bin libgtk2.0-common libgtk2.0-dev
  libhpmud0 libio-socket-ssl-perl libpango1.0-0 libpango1.0-dev librsvg2-2
  librsvg2-common librsvg2-dev libunique-1.0-0 libunistring-dev libunistring0
  libv4l-0 libv4l-dev libv4lconvert0 libvte-2.90-9 libvte-common libvte9
  live-config live-config-sysvinit metacity metacity-common nautilus
  nautilus-actions nautilus-data nautilus-open-terminal nautilus-share
  network-manager-gnome python-evolution python-gmenu python-gnomedesktop
  python-gnomekeyring python-vte python-wnck rhythmbox rhythmbox-plugins sudo
  totem totem-common totem-mozilla totem-plugins vino
95 upgraded, 41 newly installed, 6 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
Need to get 127 MB/145 MB of archives.
After this operation, 21.1 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? 
Anyone gonna click Y? :lol:
LMDE (Release 1), tracking debian testing, Kernel 3.14.1-686-pae i686 (32 bit), MATE & Enlightenment;
Plays (and rescues system) with experimental and sid repos on another partition with Cinnamon & Gnome3, if grub boots nice that is.

User avatar
narendra.d
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:36 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-6/o

Post by narendra.d » Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:08 am

Hi

At a time when Gnome is seeing major changes this problem may be not so important, but if some one can have a look and suggest what is the cause/solution, it would really be appreciated.

The post is here: http://forums.linuxmint.com/posting.php ... 8&p=491064
and the one following that.

Thanks in advance and sorry if this is rude.

wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1304
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-6/o

Post by wyrdoak » Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:14 am

stz*j wrote:Gnome 3 in testing!! http://www.0d.be/debian/debian-gnome-3.0-status.html
Anyone gonna click Y? :lol:
I knew there was I reason I ran Clonezilla yesterday :lol: I clicked, but have a fallback, then switch back to latest if things don't work right.
-Dell Mini Inspiron 910 Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(LinixMint-17.1: KDE)

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-6/o

Post by xircon » Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:42 am

Well here goes nothing, its going to remove Dropbox, but I am backing up with qt4-fsarchiver and it is a fresh install so if I have to re-install it will not be a problem.
Attachments
Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png (238.71 KiB) Viewed 5444 times
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-6/o

Post by xircon » Tue Nov 08, 2011 5:31 am

Well that went well!

I had to move my AWN toolbar, uninstall WICD and still working my way round everything how everything works, but it does work. Any good resources to read?
Attachments
Screenshot-1.png
Screenshot-1.png (230.34 KiB) Viewed 5440 times
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-6/o

Post by zerozero » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:15 am

yes, here it is (sooner than i was expecting):
The following NEW packages will be installed:
accountsservice apg app-install-data cdrdao cheese-common dconf-tools
empathy empathy-common fonts-cantarell freedesktop-sound-theme geoclue
geoclue-hostip geoclue-localnet geoclue-manual geoclue-yahoo
gir1.2-gconf-2.0 gir1.2-gkbd-3.0 gir1.2-gnomebluetooth-1.0 gir1.2-mutter-3.0
gir1.2-networkmanager-1.0 gir1.2-panelapplet-4.0 gir1.2-polkit-1.0
gir1.2-rb-3.0 gir1.2-soup-2.4 gir1.2-telepathyglib-0.12
gir1.2-telepathylogger-0.2 gir1.2-totem-1.0 gir1.2-totem-plparser-1.0
gir1.2-upowerglib-1.0 gir1.2-webkit-3.0 gjs gnome-backgrounds
gnome-control-center-data gnome-font-viewer gnome-icon-theme-extras
gnome-icon-theme-symbolic gnome-packagekit gnome-packagekit-data
gnome-session-fallback gnome-shell grilo-plugins-0.1 gstreamer0.10-gconf ksh
libaccount
xircon, a good place to start (in tha house) is here
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
narendra.d
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:36 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-6/o

Post by narendra.d » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:31 am

Something big is broken.
A lot of updates were installed a few hours ago. Am not good enough with apt-get to give you a history of what was updated. But had used apt-get update, NOT apt-get dist-update. Ask me for responses to aommands and i will post here.
The Mint Menu doesnt appear. have to use Alt+F1 to get a menu.
However when the system started up a lot of error messages were posted. Those are here

Code: Select all

Couldn't initialize plugin applications : Traceback (most recent call last):

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu.py", line 333, in PopulatePlugins
    MyPlugin.do_plugin()

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 1295, in do_plugin
    self.Todos()

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 554, in Todos
    self.buildButtonList()

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 572, in buildButtonList
    self.updateBoxes(False)

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 1572, in updateBoxes
    newCategoryList = self.buildCategoryList()

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 1719, in buildCategoryList
    for child in menu.directory.get_contents():

AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'get_contents'
Also Opera browser doesn't load, no messages either, but leaves a crash log in /var/temp. which is here:

Code: Select all

opera: XSetLocaleModifiers failed with LC_CTYPE 'en_IN.utf8'
opera: LC_CTYPE changed to 'en_IN.UTF-8'

(<unknown>:2595): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_widget_unrealize: assertion `GTK_IS_WIDGET (widget)' failed

(<unknown>:2595): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_widget_is_toplevel: assertion `GTK_IS_WIDGET (widget)' failed
opera [crash logging]: CRASH!!
/usr/lib/opera/opera got signal SIGSEGV at address 7F6A60A68D18

Log was created here:
/var/tmp/crash20111108161457.txt
Killed
Any help will be appreciated,

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by zerozero » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:36 am

narendra.d, just read the last posts, testing is fully moving, as we speak, to gtk3, so i have no idea what the consequences that a simple apt-get upgrade will have in the system, you have to go with a dist-upgrade, and anyway mintmenu is gone.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
narendra.d
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:36 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by narendra.d » Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:03 am

Can't update my previous post.
Dis a bit of exploring and founf what was updated.

Code: Select all

Start-Date: 2011-11-08  14:42:05
Commandline: apt-get upgrade
Upgrade: libgtk2.0-common:amd64 (2.24.6-2, 2.24.7-1), python-evolution:amd64 (2.32.0-1+b1, 2.32.0-4+b1), python-gnomedesktop:amd64 (2.32.0-1+b1, 2.32.0-4+b1), libgail18:amd64 (2.24.6-2, 2.24.7-1), libunique-1.0-0:amd64 (1.1.6-2, 1.1.6-3), libv4l-0:amd64 (0.8.5-4, 0.8.5-5), libunistring0:amd64 (0.9.3-4, 0.9.3-5), libglib2.0-data:amd64 (2.28.6-1, 2.28.8-1), libvte-common:amd64 (0.28.1-2, 0.28.2-1), hpijs:amd64 (3.11.7-1+b1, 3.11.10-1), dosfstools:amd64 (3.0.9-1, 3.0.12-1), python-gnomekeyring:amd64 (2.32.0-1+b1, 2.32.0-4+b1), live-config:amd64 (3.0~a28-1, 3.0~a30-1), libv4lconvert0:amd64 (0.8.5-4, 0.8.5-5), librsvg2-common:amd64 (2.34.1-2, 2.34.1-3), live-config-sysvinit:amd64 (3.0~a28-1, 3.0~a30-1), libhpmud0:amd64 (3.11.7-1+b1, 3.11.10-1), libgdu0:amd64 (2.32.1-1, 3.0.2-2), sudo:amd64 (1.8.2-2, 1.8.3p1-1), python-vte:amd64 (0.28.1-2, 0.28.2-1), libvte9:amd64 (0.28.1-2, 0.28.2-1), libgail-common:amd64 (2.24.6-2, 2.24.7-1), libdecoration0:amd64 (0.8.4-4, 0.8.4-5), gtk2-engines-pixbuf:amd64 (2.24.6-2, 2.24.7-1), librsvg2-2:amd64 (2.34.1-2, 2.34.1-3), libvte-2.90-9:amd64 (0.28.1-2, 0.28.2-1), libpango1.0-0:amd64 (1.29.4-1, 1.29.4-2), python-wnck:amd64 (2.32.0-1+b1, 2.32.0-4+b1), libgnome-menu2:amd64 (2.30.3-2+b1, 3.0.1-3), libgtk2.0-bin:amd64 (2.24.6-2, 2.24.7-1), lib32v4l-0:amd64 (0.8.5-4, 0.8.5-5), libio-socket-ssl-perl:amd64 (1.45-1, 1.49-1), ca-certificates:amd64 (20110502+nmu1, 20111025), gir1.2-vte-2.90:amd64 (0.28.1-2, 0.28.2-1), dmidecode:amd64 (2.11-3, 2.11-4), libgtk2.0-0:amd64 (2.24.6-2, 2.24.7-1), gir1.2-pango-1.0:amd64 (1.29.4-1, 1.29.4-2)
End-Date: 2011-11-08  14:44:14
Don't know if this is what others should expect if they update, but just to repeat, the mint menu isn't there, have to use Alt+F1 for menu, Apps running don't show on the botton bar.

Any help/insights/solutions/advice will be appreciated

User avatar
narendra.d
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:36 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by narendra.d » Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:07 am

Thanks @zerozero for that.
Will hold any more updates/dist-upgrades till this is resolved to an extent.

GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GeneC » Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:39 am

This was quicker than expected.
Gnome 3.0 and Shell hit SID only 3 weeks ago.
I have been running it since then.
There may be posts here :arrow: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 80#p483457
that may be of help to making the transition.

I must say that Gnome 3.0 and shell have been very stable.
by GeneC on Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:04 am

Nothing is broken here.
FULL DU this morning. Nothing held back, nothing pinned.

GNOME
Gnome2 has been left in the dust.
You will boot up into Gnome 3 if you do a full DU, running either into fallback mode (somewhat like Gnome 2.3), or Gnome shell.
If you want to use the Shell, turn off Compiz.
Fallback mode can use Compiz or Compiz/Emerald.
You CAN edit panels in 'Fallback Mode', but you have to use (Alt+rt mouse click), many but not all applets still work.

Something to ease the transition, using Gnome Shell.
http://live.gnome.org/GnomeShell/CheatSheet

Image
Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
LMDE - SID- Gnome 3.0.2 Shell
Greybird Theme (nice)!

XORG
You most likely should hold XORG.
There are problems with the new xorg (see posts in Testing )
You may have to reinstall your Nvidia (not sure if you use it), with Xorg, and then STILL have problems.
Xorg breaks ATI.
Xorg works fine with SOME Nvidia cards, but not most.

LibreOffice is fine, as is Python (with me).
--------------------------------------

EXTENSIONS

I am sure you all will want to use (or at least try) extensions.
First you need to download (from synaptic) Gnome-Tweak-Tool

Then, add some extensions. There may be some in synaptic (I forget) :?:

Here are some links to downloads.
NOTE: you need 3.0 extensions, 3.2 will not work
http://www.fpmurphy.com/gnome-shell-extensions/3.0/

Description of what they do. YMMV
- AppMenu (adds an application menu to the top panel

- Media Player (adds a media player icon to the top panel status tray when a compatible media player is running with the current playing track info and media player controls)

- Smart Overview (changes how window thumbnails are presented in overview mode)

- Monitor Status (adds a button to the status tray to change the orientation of the monitor and a shortcut to the display settings control centre applet)

- Bottom Panel (adds a bottom panel to the desktop)

- noa11y (removes the accessibility button from the status tray)

- User Themes (enables the use of custom Shell themes and sets the Shell theme, requires configuration via GSettings (from a terminal) or DConf-Editor (for people who prefer a GUI))

- Alt-Tab (changes how the task switcher behaves, allowing one to switch between windows rather than applications)

- notifications (moves the icons for running applications from the notification tray at the bottom up to the left of the status tray on the top Shell panel and also moves the clock to the left beside the user status menu)
- Shutdown Menu (switches the Standby menu item from the user status menu to Shutdown and moves standby and hibernate to the Power Off dialog)

- Window List (currently only appears to work in conjunction with the bottom panel extension, adding a window list to the bottom panel)
Have fun! :mrgreen:
Last edited by GeneC on Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:47 am, edited 7 times in total.

gavinhc
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:53 pm
Location: Canada

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-6/o

Post by gavinhc » Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:40 am

xircon wrote:its going to remove Dropbox
The version of nautilus-dropbox in the Mint repos is not compatible with some Gnome3 component (probably Nautilus :lol: ). I know the version in Sid has been updated to work with Gnome3, possibly the one testing as well, but I'm not positive on that. The Debian's nautilus-dropbox package is configured to pull in the latest Dropbox backend stuff from the Dropbox site on install, so that package should be all you need.

Code: Select all

apt-cache policy nautilus-dropbox
nautilus-dropbox:
  Installed: 0.7.0-2
  Candidate: 0.7.0-2
  Package pin: 0.7.0-2
  Version table:
 *** 0.7.0-2 750
         50 http://ftp.ca.debian.org/debian/ unstable/non-free amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     0.6.9-1 750
        690 http://ftp.ca.debian.org/debian/ testing/non-free amd64 Packages
     0.6.7-lmde 750
        700 http://mirror.csclub.uwaterloo.ca/linuxmint-packages/ debian/import amd64 Packages
AMD Athlon II X4 630, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT 430 - 64-bit LMDE (Gnome3) tracking testing, 64-bit Archlinux, 32-bit Windows XP
Aluminum Unibody MacBook - MacOS X 10.7 "Lion"

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5122
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by viking777 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:01 pm

I just dived into this shark infested pool, but the only bite I have received so far is the one that removed Dropbox, but thanks to this excellent section of the forum, not only was I expecting it but knew what to do about it as well.

Personally I didn't like the default settings in /etc/gdm3/daemon.conf, so I backed up the old conf file before replacing it with the new one. On closer inspection after a reboot, the differences between the old and new files were very small, and I am sure I could have just opted to use the old file without any problems (you are given the choice during the upgrade as to what you want to do with this particular file).

I had a quick look at gnome3 but it would only start in fallback mode, so if my Nvidia Geforce 8600 is not powerful enough to run it then they can go hang as far as I am concerned, I would only use Fluxbox anyway and thankfully that has not been affected in any way that I can see so far. (incidentally Unity works well enough with my present graphics setup)

One thing I just noticed, even as I am typing this post (not sure if it has been mentioned before) but mintmenu no longer works, so Clem better get his coding fingers oiled up pretty sharply I would say, as mintmenu is one of the main reasons for many people using Linux Mint.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GeneC » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:13 pm

viking777 wrote: I had a quick look at gnome3 but it would only start in fallback mode, so if my Nvidia Geforce 8600 is not powerful enough to run............
Did you stop Compiz from loading at boot?
Shell will not work with compiz. It has its own composter "mutter, and clutter" :lol:

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5122
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by viking777 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:24 pm

GeneC wrote:
viking777 wrote: I had a quick look at gnome3 but it would only start in fallback mode, so if my Nvidia Geforce 8600 is not powerful enough to run............
Did you stop Compiz from loading at boot?
Shell will not work with compiz. It has its own composter "mutter, and clutter" :lol:
Compiz!!! Loading!!! Boot!!!

How you can ever put those three words in the same sentence is a mystery to me.

Until the advent of KDE4, Compiz was the biggest waste of time and effort that the Linux world has ever indulged in.

I wouldn't even grant that worthless piece of crap room on my hard drive, never mind load it at boot up.

Roughly translated that means I uninstalled Compiz about 5 minutes after l installed LMDE (I would have done it quicker, but I think the phone rang) :lol:

Seriously though thanks for the reply - hope you are not snowed in yet. :)
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1599
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by GeneC » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:31 pm

Seriously though thanks for the reply - hope you are not snowed in yet.
:lol:
Viking, we got 6-8" last week. (All melted now. its 62 F today) 8)

Looks like you are stuck with Fallback Mode :(
You can do some limited changes to panel (move, add some applets).
But, you have to (alt+rt click) the panel to edit.
(For some reason I had to alt+rt+left click)

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5122
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by viking777 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 1:30 pm

Here is another little trivial problem that has occurred ever since I updated to gnome3.

My main browser at the moment is Opera (version 11.52). Now it runs perfectly on gnome3, but for some strange reason, every time I close it down it thinks it has crashed and puts up a 'Crash Report' window asking me if I would like to send details to Opera.

The first thing is that it hasn't crashed, it has only been shut down, the second thing is that if I click 'yes' in the 'send report' window, it searches for a couple of minutes and then declares that it can't find any information about the crash to send anyway (not surprising since it hasn't crashed).

This is obviously an Opera problem rather than an LMDE or Mint problem, but I report it here in case anybody else sees the same behaviour and wonders wihih :)

BTW it doesn't happen with Iceweasel.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

User avatar
gcp
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 6:24 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by gcp » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:21 pm

.
Crash on Opera startup/shutdown after upgrading to Gtk 2.24.7

look here: :D
http://my.opera.com/ruario/blog/2011/10 ... ing-to-gtk

this is a workaround... :oops:
<login2 debianSID><sudo apt-get dist-upgrade><DONTTHINK><ENTER><WHOCARES><ENTER><OOHHNOO!><HAVENOBACKUP,IM-A-MAN><reinstalling,Windowslike...>

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5122
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: LMDE BREAKAGES - tracking Testing - read here first-8/n

Post by viking777 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:45 pm

gcp wrote:.
Crash on Opera startup/shutdown after upgrading to Gtk 2.24.7

look here: :D
http://my.opera.com/ruario/blog/2011/10 ... ing-to-gtk

this is a workaround... :oops:
Oh! that is so obvious isn't it, I don't know why I didn't think of that myself :shock:

Thanks gcp - it works.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

Locked

Return to “LMDE 1 Archive”