LMDE: Network stopped working after system update!!

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
r2rX
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:36 pm

LMDE: Network stopped working after system update!!

Postby r2rX » Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:19 pm

Hey guys,

I just completed a fresh reinstall of LMDE and did a system update: sudo apt-get update , sudo-apt-get upgrade.

Everything completed successfully.....except now, after restarting, my network is no longer working.

In the Network Manager, I left the autoeth disabled and created a profile for the house (which would connect automatically). Now, neither are present and LMDE is telling me that my network cable isn't plugged....but it is.

The network manager isn't working properly now.....so can someone help me troubleshoot this?

All the help is appreciated. :)

r2rX :)

TBABill
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1365
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:02 pm
Location: Leonardtown, MD

Re: LMDE: Network stopped working after system update!!

Postby TBABill » Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:19 am

You probably received an updated kernel version and whenever that happens you will need to reconfigure your wireless if it is not automatically setup. For example, my Broadcom requires me to follow install/setup steps upon installation. Then after getting an upgrade to a new kernel version (i.e., from 2.6.32 to 2.6.38....from 2.6.32-1 to 2.6.32-2, for example, would NOT require reconfig).

So, if you took any steps to enable it the first time you may have to do so again if you are on a new kernel version. If it's something else, further troubleshooting will be necessary.

r2rX
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:36 pm

Re: LMDE: Network stopped working after system update!!

Postby r2rX » Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:44 pm

It's a wired connection, actually. I'm not using wireless.

However, I found an interesting bug. When either editing/creating a new network profile (within the Network Manager), if I save the settings with the 'Apply for all users' disabled, when it returns to the main Manager screen, it disappears. So I kinda figured the issue.....ish.

Maybe someone else can test and see what's wrong.

r2rX :)

r2rX
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:36 pm

Re: LMDE: Network stopped working after system update!!

Postby r2rX » Tue Jun 28, 2011 6:09 am

I know this is 20 days late, but I figured why this problem happens. If you save any presets (whether default 'auto eth1' or your own) with the 'Available for all users' option unchecked, then this problem happens.

I can only assume that this isn't normal.

r2rX :)


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests