Is it safe to update LMD?

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
tushargok
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:37 am

Is it safe to update LMD?

Postby tushargok » Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:14 pm

I'm returning user of LMD. Last time (Just when it was released first time) I used LMD for a month and when I continued to keep my system updated it one day suddenly changed everything from Mint UI to default Debian. I've now installed the latest LMD download, it is showing me 1000+ updates are available. Is it safe to keep system updated? I do not want to loose the Mint theme, changes with the default debian one.

User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2653
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Is it safe to update LMD?

Postby nunol » Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:36 pm

It should be safe but check first here before updating: viewtopic.php?f=141&t=67502

rob2uk
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: Is it safe to update LMD?

Postby rob2uk » Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:41 pm

I'm running fully updated copies of LMDE on 3 separate PCs all with completely different hardware configurations, and all installed within the last week.

The only update problem I had was down to a daft error on my part - I was so used to using the main edition that I added Ubuntu PPAs to LMDE :oops:
GA-965-DS3, Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, 8GB DDR2, 2x1TB HDD, Linux Mint 11
Acer Aspire 5332, Pentium dual core 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Linux Mint 11, Linux Mint Debian
Compaq CQ-60, Sempron 2.10GHz, 4GB DDR2, 120GB HDD, Tinycore 3.7rc2 (Minecraft server!)

tushargok
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:37 am

Re: Is it safe to update LMD?

Postby tushargok » Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:59 pm

Thanks a lot for your reply. After reading your reply I've decided that I'll take a chance and will run the full update. I hope it will be smooth one!

aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines

Re: Is it safe to update LMD?

Postby aljoriz » Fri Jun 10, 2011 2:13 pm

a few reminder if you are using the terminal to update via

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade


a. you may encounter text files in the terminal informing you of changes and pressing the enter button won't help but press "q" instead.

b. When a configuration file is updated you will be asked to use the maintainers version or retain what you have. Try to read, before pressing anything. I should know as stupidity made my installation go pffft!


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests