Could not refresh the list of packages... (SOLVED)

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 722
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Could not refresh the list of packages... (SOLVED)

Postby tenfoot » Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:44 am

The update shield has a red cross and hovering the mouse over it reveals the message "Could not refresh the list of packages".

Clicking on the shield and then Refresh on the dialogue box presented results in the following error.

Code: Select all

E: Encountered a section with no Package: header
E: Problem with MergeList /var/lib/apt/lists/packages.linuxmint.com_dists_debian_import_i18n_Translation-en
E: The package lists or status file could not be parsed or opened.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.


Is anyone else experiencing this, please? If so, how did you solve the problem?
Last edited by tenfoot on Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Carmel, Midwest USA at /var/www
Contact:

Re: Could not refresh the list of packages...

Postby DataMan » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:42 am

Just a starting wag (based on your avatar) :mrgreen: Repositories down? Wait a reasonable amount of time then try again..

-DataMan
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6516
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Could not refresh the list of packages...

Postby zerozero » Wed Jul 06, 2011 6:05 am

tenfoot,
you're trying to upgate and your internet went kaput for a while, right? and after that you get that error?
been there, done that, have the stuff somewhere :lol:

- don't know if this is the right way to fix that, but works for me everytime (and tks to BT it's a few):
- go to /var/lib/apt and open as root the lists folder;
- if it's the same issue, you should see in there one or several html files instead of the usual files that should be there (if you are unsure what is what, double-click one, the good guys will open in gedit, the bad ones in any internet browser)
- select the html files and delete them;
- the update should be fine now
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 722
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Re: Could not refresh the list of packages...

Postby tenfoot » Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:58 pm

DataMan wrote:Just a starting wag (based on your avatar) :mrgreen: Repositories down? Wait a reasonable amount of time then try again..

-DataMan


Ah! Meet Jordan on the left and Albert on the right. They are both Italian Spinone. Jordan is coming up 4 years of age and Albert will be 13 at the end of September.

Can accept that Repositories are down but for foour days now!

See my reply to zerozero.

User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 722
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Re: Could not refresh the list of packages...

Postby tenfoot » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:27 pm

zerozero wrote:tenfoot,
you're trying to upgate and your internet went kaput for a while, right? and after that you get that error?
been there, done that, have the t-**** somewhere :lol:


Can't remember my internet going down but that means nothing at my age :oops:


- don't know if this is the right way to fix that, but works for me everytime (and tks to BT it's a few):
- go to /var/lib/apt and open as root the lists folder;
- if it's the same issue, you should see in there one or several html files instead of the usual files that should be there (if you are unsure what is what, double-click one, the good guys will open in gedit, the bad ones in any internet browser)
- select the html files and delete them;
- the update should be fine now


Didn't find any files with the HTML extension but double clicked on each one in turn and deleted those which opened in a browser window and deleted them as per your suggestion.Delighted to report that all is now well. Thank you again! By the way does BT stand for British Telecom?

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6516
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Could not refresh the list of packages...

Postby zerozero » Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:30 pm

glad to know that my "fix" works :D
and yes, BT is British Telecom :lol:
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 722
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Re: Could not refresh the list of packages...

Postby tenfoot » Sun Jul 10, 2011 7:48 pm

Once again I have the dreaded red cross on the Update Manager icon. Clicked on refresh and got the same error as before, viz:

Code: Select all

E: Encountered a section with no Package: header.
E: Problem with MergeList /var/lib/apt/lists/packages.linuxmint.com_dists_debian_import_i18n_Translation-en
E: The package lists or status file could not be parsed or opened.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.


Then tried to update through the terminal by typing sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade but this resulted in the same error as before.

Checked /var/lib/apt/lists and clicked on each file in turn. Most were O.K. but several opened in a browser. The browser window contained the following:

Code: Select all

Thomson Gateway.
TG585v8    
   
Network Error...   

Your requested host could not be reached. Click on the link below to retry.

http://packages.linuxmint.com/dists/debian/import/i18n/Index
   


Clicking on the link returns a 404 - Not Found

At the moment I am staying with my son and daughter-in-law. They use a Thompson Router, if that helps. Seems strange, though, because I have no difficulty in getting into other websites.

User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 722
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Re: Could not refresh the list of packages... (SOLVED)

Postby tenfoot » Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:10 am

As I hadn't rebooted for about three weeks, I decided to do so and, miraculously, the problem of the Mint Update not refreshing was solved.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests