new update in aptitude but not in update manager

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
talekksna
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:20 pm
Location: Serbia

new update in aptitude but not in update manager

Postby talekksna » Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:42 pm

When I run "aptitude" in my terminal I got 5 new upgradable packages but non in update manager...!?
Recommended actions?

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19228
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: new update in aptitude but not in update manager

Postby xenopeek » Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:46 pm

As detailed here:
Starting with Update Pack 3, “Security” and “Multimedia” become part of “Linux Mint Debian Latest”. When Update Pack 3 is made available, your sources will need to change and all of them will then point at Linux Mint. In the meantime, it is recommended not to apply updates coming from “Security” and “Multimedia”, as they might not be compatible with the packages in Update Pack 2.

So don't install unless it is update pack #3.

In addition, in Update Manager -> Edit -> Preferences you can select which updates are visible. By default level 4 and 5 are not visible (as these are a risk to system stability), while they are visible in aptitude.
Image

talekksna
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:20 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: new update in aptitude but not in update manager

Postby talekksna » Mon Sep 19, 2011 6:17 pm

I recently install LMDE 201109.
Does that mean that I need to disable security and multimedia in Update manager > Edit > Software sources > Other software ?
As I understand LMDE 201109 is with Update Pack 2 and Update Pack 3 is yet to come, so I should disable security and multimedia.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19228
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: new update in aptitude but not in update manager

Postby xenopeek » Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:14 am

Don't install updates until update pack 3 is available. Period.
Image

talekksna
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:20 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: new update in aptitude but not in update manager

Postby talekksna » Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:18 am

Understood. Period.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19228
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: new update in aptitude but not in update manager

Postby xenopeek » Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:58 am

I meant the "period" to keep it simple, just don't install updates :wink:
Image


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest