Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround avail)

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6517
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby zerozero » Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:10 pm

xircon wrote: I have loads of packages relating to xorg that I can't install,

i've noticed that from your last outputs, and apparently it's something that already happened before.
had you tried to track down the "why"?
if you do

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg-core

what are the error msg you get?
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby xircon » Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:59 pm

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
xserver-xorg is already the newest version.
xserver-xorg set to manually installed.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 26 not upgraded.
molly2@n5010 ~/Downloads $
molly2@n5010 ~/Downloads $ sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg-core
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
  libmtdev1 xserver-common xserver-xorg-input-evdev xserver-xorg-input-synaptics xserver-xorg-video-fbdev xserver-xorg-video-nouveau xserver-xorg-video-radeon
  xserver-xorg-video-vesa
Suggested packages:
  gpointing-device-settings touchfreeze
The following packages will be REMOVED:
  xserver-xorg-input-wacom xserver-xorg-video-ati xserver-xorg-video-mach64 xserver-xorg-video-r128
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  libmtdev1
The following packages will be upgraded:
  xserver-common xserver-xorg-core xserver-xorg-input-evdev xserver-xorg-input-synaptics xserver-xorg-video-fbdev xserver-xorg-video-nouveau xserver-xorg-video-radeon xserver-xorg-video-vesa
8 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 4 to remove and 16 not upgraded.
Need to get 4,512 kB of archives.
After this operation, 874 kB disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]?


If I let it run through, it boots, but to a black screen.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6517
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby zerozero » Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:17 pm

sorry Steve, the only obvious thing i can see there is that your graphic-card related xorg pkgs are not playing nice, ati is really a mess :twisted:
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby xircon » Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:29 pm

Yeh, as I said time to play the waiting game :(
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

Chipshotz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:35 pm

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?

Postby Chipshotz » Mon Jan 23, 2012 2:13 am

GeneC wrote:
viking777 wrote:.......................................
As for tracking Sid, well I have considered that of course, and I seem to edge closer towards it every time I think about this question, but up until now I have been very happy with LMDE Testing and I don't really want yet another distro on my hard drive to maintain, I just want LMDE testing to roll as a rolling release should and at the moment it isn't doing that at all.

Thanks for the congratulations btw :)


From tracking Testing
Consider just enabling SID temporarily.

Code: Select all

deb http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free


Just update=
gnome-shell
gnome-tweak-tool
gconf2

Disable SID
Keep tracking testing with a fully functioning Gnome 3.2 shell.

Want MGSE?
You can download 'mint-meta-mgse' .deb
from Mint Lisa Repo
http://packages.linuxmint.com/list.php?release=Lisa
OR:
TEMPORARILY (It is Ubuntu based) add Lisa

Code: Select all

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ lisa main upstream import


Add other extensions from
https://extensions.gnome.org/

Add MATE from
http://mate.karapetsas.com/

And be as happy as a :lol:
Image[/b]


Thanks for this Gene. I backed-up, removed 3.0 extensions, and took the plunge. Remarkably, everything worked the first time. I installed a few extensions and all is fine. I have Nvidia graphics. Happy clam :lol:

Lippy
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:28 pm

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?

Postby Lippy » Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:09 am

viking777 wrote:Installing extensions from extensions.gnome.org - impossible. I tried about 15 of them not one of them was even installed, never mind working (although I got no errors during the process)

I ran into the same issue initially. It turned out that there was a missing dependency the website forgot to mention. Do you have unzip installed by any chance? If you don't, installing that should fix it.
LMDE (tracking Testing) with Cinnamon; Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, Nvidia GeForce GTX 260 (using Nouveau)

User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5139
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?

Postby viking777 » Mon Jan 23, 2012 7:10 am

Lippy wrote:I ran into the same issue initially. It turned out that there was a missing dependency the website forgot to mention. Do you have unzip installed by any chance? If you don't, installing that should fix it.


Lippy - that is exactly the problem, thank you so much for sharing the answer. The ability to use the gnome extensions site is really the icing on the cake with this little project - maybe when GeneC gets up he could add the unzip requirement to his how-to post.

I'm glad I started this thread, it has given me the most useful information I have had for ages about LMDE :D :D
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).

User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1603
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?

Postby GeneC » Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:36 am

Lippy wrote:
viking777 wrote:Installing extensions from extensions.gnome.org - impossible. I tried about 15 of them not one of them was even installed, never mind working (although I got no errors during the process)

I ran into the same issue initially. It turned out that there was a missing dependency the website forgot to mention. Do you have unzip installed by any chance? If you don't, installing that should fix it.


viking777 wrote:
Lippy wrote:.................
Lippy - that is exactly the problem, thank you so much for sharing the answer. The ability to use the gnome extensions site is really the icing on the cake with this little project - maybe when GeneC gets up he could add the unzip requirement to his how-to post.
............. :D


Done! :wink:
I had it installed previously.
Had no idea it was required. :?
Thanks Lippy!

Serendipity
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:38 pm

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby Serendipity » Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:13 am

Thanks, Gene, Viking777 and Lippy. Its nice to have my LMDE install useable again for the first time in weeks.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6517
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby zerozero » Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:25 pm

just a quick update here, gnome-shell3.2 is already (as off yesterday if i read this correctly ) installable in kfreebsd (the major roadblock for the testing migration),

so now i believe that all will be easier (not necessary easy because it never is with debian :lol: )
http://release.debian.org/migration/tes ... nome-shell
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

diazepan11
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:05 pm

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby diazepan11 » Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:29 pm

Now gnome-shell3.2 is going in today
http://release.debian.org/migration/tes ... nome-shell

GeneBenson
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:55 pm

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby GeneBenson » Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:25 am

diazepan11 wrote:Now gnome-shell3.2 is going in today
http://release.debian.org/migration/tes ... nome-shell


Yes, Gnome-Shell 3.2.2.1-1 has appeared in the Debian Dutch mirror I use. Any bets on which will be bigger: The next LMDE dvd or Update Pack 4?

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby xircon » Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:27 am

GeneBenson wrote:
diazepan11 wrote:Now gnome-shell3.2 is going in today
http://release.debian.org/migration/tes ... nome-shell


Yes, Gnome-Shell 3.2.2.1-1 has appeared in the Debian Dutch mirror I use. Any bets on which will be bigger: The next LMDE dvd or Update Pack 4?

Thanks Gene, nearly spat coffee all over my screen :lol:
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

User avatar
longtom
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:21 am

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby longtom » Mon Feb 06, 2012 3:18 am

xircon wrote:
GeneBenson wrote:
diazepan11 wrote:Now gnome-shell3.2 is going in today
http://release.debian.org/migration/tes ... nome-shell


Yes, Gnome-Shell 3.2.2.1-1 has appeared in the Debian Dutch mirror I use. Any bets on which will be bigger: The next LMDE dvd or Update Pack 4?

Thanks Gene, nearly spat coffee all over my screen :lol:


I did ... don't do that again!! :x

:mrgreen:
Regards

longtom

User avatar
hellfire695
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby hellfire695 » Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:15 am

you know I'm surprised noone has brought up the idea of forming a lmde team to take care of the update packs.
Personally I'd to help with them anyway i can as this is taking a long time.

User avatar
Andrew33
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 433
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Boardman, Ohio USA
Contact:

Re: Why so long for gnome-shell3.2 in testing?(workround ava

Postby Andrew33 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:14 pm

Just to let everyone know, linux-headers, headers-common & linux-image have migrated from 3.2.4-1 to 3.2.6-1....so everyone is aware of where things are at the current time....cheers


Andrew
Dell Latitude D820/2.33Ghz Core2Duo Intel/4GB Crucial/320GB Samsung HDD/nVidia NVS 120M 256MB
Win7 Bus 32 bit/LMDE2-MATE 17.3 LTS 64


Image


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests