Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
LMDE 2 support ends on 1-1-2019
birchy
Level 1
Level 1

Hiding a partition from the O.S.

Post by birchy » Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:22 pm

I've been using Linux for around 4 years, so this isn't a complete "Newbie question" as such.

I've just installed a fresh version of LMDE 201204 and set it up to my liking. I am now thinking that I should make a clone of this install with CloneZilla, just in case anything goes wrong. It would also make future installation easier and faster. Note that I've never used CloneZilla before. I've partitioned my 1TB hard drive as follows:

gparted.png
gparted.png (63.29 KiB) Viewed 3160 times
sdb1 is the LMDE installation I want to clone and sdb6 is where I intend to store the clone. The problem is that the sdb6 (OS_CLONE) partition is showing up in Nautilus but I want to "hide" it from the O.S. and ONLY use it when running CloneZilla. I tried setting the "hidden" flag in gparted but it was only temporary. I also edited fstab with "noauto" but that didn't work either:

Code: Select all

# /dev/sda6 (OS_CLONE = 10GB)
UUID=0d0f8fc0-55e3-4f3b-a1c1-060858dacbca	none	ext4	noauto	0	2
I've double checked the UUID and know it is correct. Can I "hide" this drive using fstab or should I use another method?

Also, as a newbie to cloning, is it the best way to backup my fresh install? I wonder if it is possible to make a custom installation DVD that ALSO saves all my current settings, etc? Would that be easier than using CloneZilla?

Thank you in advance...

birchy
Level 1
Level 1

Re: Hiding a partition from the O.S.

Post by birchy » Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:27 pm

Just noticed another weird thing.... Those "empty" partitions supposedly contain 311MB and 13.81GB?? I did an ls and rm the lost+found folder but now I get...

ls -a /media/STORAGE
.  ..
What's going on there? Never seen that before. :?

EDIT:
This was a stupid question. Obviously those directories are required by the O.S. root.