How to create directories on another partition ?[SOLVED]

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
ron_h
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

How to create directories on another partition ?[SOLVED]

Postby ron_h » Thu Jun 19, 2014 6:44 pm

LMDE 201403 Cinnamon 64bit

I ran qt4-fsarchiver from pmagic Live USB stick yesterday and created a backup of sda6 on sda9. I would like to create some directories on sda9 in which to store backup files but couldn't work out how to do it while pmagic was booted.

Today I have booted my LMDE system, which is on sda6, and still can't work out how to create directories on sda9, even after mounting it. I expect it's obvious, but not to this newbie. Oh, and I'd prefer to use a GUI, but if it has to be in a terminal, then it has to be.

Ron
Last edited by ron_h on Fri Jun 20, 2014 5:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3418
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: How to create directories on another partition ?

Postby wayne128 » Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:46 pm

It is much easier to use terminal, especially over forum.

Decide a name, lets say 'mybackup'
Decide a directory within /dev/sda9, lets say /home , to be parent directory to mybackup

Then the steps with terminal is..

1. get into root

2. mount /dev/sda9 to a mount point, I usually just use /mnt

Code: Select all

mount /dev/sda9 /mnt


3. make a new directory mybackup into /dev/sda9/home

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/home/mybackup



that is about it.

show you the actual stuff from my terminal, i list what is inside /home before and after the mkdir command, note that mybackup appear after the mkdir command.

Code: Select all

wayne@hpi5:~$ su
Password:
root@hpi5:/home/wayne# mount /dev/sda9 /mnt
root@hpi5:/home/wayne# ls /mnt/home
wayne
root@hpi5:/home/wayne# mkdir /mnt/home/mybackup
root@hpi5:/home/wayne# ls /mnt/home
mybackup  wayne
root@hpi5:/home/wayne#

ron_h
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Re: How to create directories on another partition ?

Postby ron_h » Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:43 am

I suspect this is relevant. I created sda9 using gparted (from a Live USB, probably LMDE) as an ext4 partition at which time a lost+found directory was created on it. The only thing sda9 has been used for so far is as the destination for qt4-fsarchiver. So when I start to copy your terminal session

Code: Select all

ron@baby-2 ~ $ su
Password:
baby-2 ron # mount /dev/sda9 /mnt
baby-2 ron # ls /mnt/home
ls: cannot access /mnt/home: No such file or directory


Just verifying in terminal what there is on sda9 :

Code: Select all

baby-2 ron # ls /mnt
LMDECinnamonCustomised-19-6-2014.fsa  lost+found
LMDECinnamonCustomised-19-6-2014.txt


Ron

wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3418
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: How to create directories on another partition ?

Postby wayne128 » Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:09 am

OK
so you have not (yet) restore LMDECinnamonCustomised-19-6-2014.fsa to sda9

because you only use it as a backup directory when you ran qt4-fsarchiver..

and thus sda9 has only two files
LMDECinnamonCustomised-19-6-2014.fsa
LMDECinnamonCustomised-19-6-2014.txt

that is quite normal.

now that you already see the backup file, all seems OK
if you still wish to create or make a new directory there, and called it mybackup,

from running sda6, open a root terminal and type

mount /dev/sda9 /mnt
mkdir /mnt/mybackup

it will be there when you list.



you probably need to experiment on restoring LMDECinnamonCustomised-19-6-2014.fsa to a partition, and then test it to be sure it is what you can use, independent on the original sda6

ron_h
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:03 am
Location: Sydney, NSW, AU

Re: How to create directories on another partition ?

Postby ron_h » Fri Jun 20, 2014 5:34 am

Thank you. I have now created some directories, and, (eventually) managed to move the 2 backup files into one of them. I really don't like using terminal :-)

The plan is to use sda9 only for backups. I plan to restore LMDECinnamonCustomised-19-6-2014.fsa, the backup I have taken of sda6 (LMDE), to sda8 (LMDETEST) after I have finished with the current LMDETEST system. It's possible that by that time, there may be a later backup of sda6, in which case I'll use that.

I will mark this thread as SOLVED

Ron


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests