alt+F2 and Print Screen questions

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 949
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont
Contact:

alt+F2 and Print Screen questions

Postby kmb42vt » Fri Sep 24, 2010 4:44 pm

I just happened to notice a couple problems with LMDE involving the 'alt+F2' key combination and the Print Screen key in that pressing alt+F2 does not bring up the run dialog and hitting the Print Screen does not bring up the screenshot app as it does in LM9. In fact the Print Screen key doesn't seem to do anything when it should load the current screen into memory so you can paste into The Gimp for example. I know the keyboard is mapped out correctly (It's a generic Logitech keyboard--nothing fancy) and alt+F2 and Print Screen work properly in LM9.

Is this normal for LMDE/Debian or am I off my rocker? Okay, I know I'm off my rocker but it be great if someone could confirm this anomaly for me. :P
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)

secipolla
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: alt+F2 and Print Screen questions

Postby secipolla » Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:23 pm

Did you check the keyboard shortcuts settings?

User avatar
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2720
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: alt+F2 and Print Screen questions

Postby dawgdoc » Fri Sep 24, 2010 9:24 pm

I was having the same problem with <ALT>+F2 not bringing up the Run-dialog, so your question prompted me to check.

I could not find anything in the Keyboard Shortcuts app, under the Preferences Menu section which was of help. Since I am using Compiz for eye candy, I checked settings in CompizConfiguration Settings Manager. The issues were resolved by enabling Gnome Compatibility in the General section.
Image

SYSTEM: Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon
READING: Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

secipolla
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: alt+F2 and Print Screen questions

Postby secipolla » Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:46 am

I use plain Sid. I just noticed that Alt+Print didn't work to take a screenshot of a window. So I set it to (Super key)Mod4+Print .
Alt+F2 and just Print work fine.

User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 949
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: alt+F2 and Print Screen questions

Postby kmb42vt » Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:19 am

dawgdoc wrote:I was having the same problem with <ALT>+F2 not bringing up the Run-dialog, so your question prompted me to check.

I could not find anything in the Keyboard Shortcuts app, under the Preferences Menu section which was of help. Since I am using Compiz for eye candy, I checked settings in CompizConfiguration Settings Manager. The issues were resolved by enabling Gnome Compatibility in the General section.


That was it for me. I completely spaced on that one as I was so used to it being enabled by default in LM9 once I installed the Nvidia 195 driver. Thanks!
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)

supercompact
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:15 pm

Re: alt+F2 and Print Screen questions

Postby supercompact » Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:16 pm

dawgdoc wrote:I was having the same problem with <ALT>+F2 not bringing up the Run-dialog, so your question prompted me to check.

I could not find anything in the Keyboard Shortcuts app, under the Preferences Menu section which was of help. Since I am using Compiz for eye candy, I checked settings in CompizConfiguration Settings Manager. The issues were resolved by enabling Gnome Compatibility in the General section.

Same thing worked for me.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests