LMDE making use of local mirror

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
AgedP
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:41 am

LMDE making use of local mirror

Postby AgedP » Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:40 am

* Edit post
* Delete post
* Report this post
* Reply with quote

LMDE making use of local Mirror

Postby AgedP on Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:26 pm
I have successfully installed LMDE 64 and run system upgrade. However it runs very slowly.
How do I edit /etc/apt/sources.list to take advantage of my ISP's mirror repository which is unmetered?
I am with Internode and their mirror includes both LinuxMint and Debian.
Editing sources.list is straight forward with Mint 9 & 10 so it should be easy for LMDE.
And would you recommend dropping back to level 3 to do a system upgrade?

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5021
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Re: LMDE making use of local mirror

Postby tdockery97 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:10 am

It is just as straightforward in LMDE. You can do it via Terminal with:

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

If you only do Levels 1-3 in Update Manager LMDE will not longer be a rolling release.

cpatrick08
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 2:17 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL

Re: LMDE making use of local mirror

Postby cpatrick08 » Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:33 am

if you go to software sources and go to the linuxmint software tab and click the tab box for download fromyou can select other and search for the best mirror then close the software sources and refresh your updates via the mintupdate then you will be using your new fast mirror because sometimes the closest one is not the fastest

rhodry
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:32 am

Re: LMDE making use of local mirror

Postby rhodry » Thu Jan 06, 2011 6:27 pm

I too am running LMDE and have Internode as my ISP.

Their Linuxmint area on the mirror is not a full repo; it only holds the iso files. There are a couple of full repo mirrors here though; Aarnet has one and the one I use (below). You can get the Debian core from Internode's mirror and that is the bulk of the packages quota free.

Here is my /etc/apt/sources.list file:

deb http://mirror.waia.asn.au/pub/linux/lin ... mint-repo/ debian main upstream import backport
# deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free
# deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free

deb http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
deb http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/debian-security/ testing/updates main contrib non-free

deb http://liquorix.net/debian sid main

PLEASE NOTE, I utilize some 'bleeding edge' stuff such as backports, debian-mulimedia and particularly the liquorix kernels. Do not use this verbatim. Amend to your needs.

cheers,
rhodry.
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...
it's about learning to dance in the rain.

AgedP
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:41 am

Re: LMDE making use of local mirror SOLVED

Postby AgedP » Sun Jan 09, 2011 5:26 am

Thank you rhodry - that fixed it for me.
I think I knew what to do anyway but the hybrid nature of LMDE made me think there might be more to it.

craig10x
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1576
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: LMDE making use of local mirror

Postby craig10x » Mon Jan 10, 2011 3:20 am

tdockery97 wrote:It is just as straightforward in LMDE. You can do it via Terminal with:

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

If you only do Levels 1-3 in Update Manager LMDE will not longer be a rolling release.


Hmmm...seems to be a debate on that one...i had posted a separate thread asking if i should keep it set at 3 or go to 5 and seems many leave it set at 3 and are sure it is still a rolling release with simply less possible exposure to something that might cause breakage...
What kind of updates are you getting in level 4 and 5 that is making it a true rolling release? (as opposed to just leaving the default)...
Also, i am wondering why Clem would keep at at level 3 default in LMDE if that would shut it off being a rolling distro?


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests