Language switching

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
WaferThinMint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:36 am

Language switching

Postby WaferThinMint » Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:24 am

Hi guys,
I'm a recent convert to Linux and I have what might be a stupid question:
Is it possible to switch the system language from, say, English to Czech (or any other language for that matter)? For example, if I was to install and setup a pc for someone in English and then quickly switch it to their native language (something like the keyboard switching button on the panel).

Thank you.

User avatar
richyrich
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7212
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Language switching

Postby richyrich » Sat Mar 05, 2011 10:12 am

Control Center -> Keyboard -> Layout tab . . add your preferred languages.

Right-click an open area of the panel -> add to panel - keyboard layout switcher . . :)

WaferThinMint
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:36 am

Re: Language switching

Postby WaferThinMint » Sun Mar 06, 2011 4:16 pm

Hi rr, Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately that's not what I meant. My fault, I didn't explain it very well. I was hoping that it would be possible for me to set-up the pc in English, hand it over to a non-english speaking person, and they would be able to press a "magic" key(s) that switches everything displayed to their language.
(I probably haven't made it any clearer :lol: )

jeop
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 2:11 pm

Re: Language switching

Postby jeop » Sun Aug 26, 2012 1:46 pm

Actually, I'm having some language problems on my system right now.

But to answer your question: I think the language settings in the Preferences section of the main menu might be help. You can install new languages for the system and make a list of preferred language for the system. I don't know of any shortcuts that could help you directly with what you're looking for. I would probably just make a new profile for the person and set his or her profile to the language he or she needs. You can make user profiles in the Users and Groups section of the main menu.

In fact, my system is exacly like that. My profile is in English and there is another user profile with Brazilian Portuguese.

(The keyboard layout shortcut is one that I have incredibly time-saving because I do a lot of typing both in English and Portuguese.)

I hope that helps.

widget
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 2:49 am
Location: S.E. Montana

Re: Language switching

Postby widget » Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:33 pm

Try this;

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg-reconfigure locales

This should give you a place to edit what language is used.

Arrow keys for navigation, space bar for selection.
Dell XPS 420 Core2 Quad Q 6600, audigy5.1, Radeon HD 6450 - currently 4 320Gb HDD, Debian Squeeze for secure use, Debian testing for daily use, Debian Sid for fun.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests