resolution 800*600

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
webzee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:13 pm

resolution 800*600

Postby webzee » Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:41 pm

I just have run "dist-upgrade" and now I see the screen resolution is 800*600

Nvidia-config says that I don't have nvidia drivers loaded, but in fact I have them installed.

I have all necessary modules.

What did I do wrong? I shouldn't run dist-upgrade? or install LMDE? or shouldn't buy notebook based on nvidia chip?

nevius
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:39 pm

Re: resolution 800*600

Postby nevius » Wed Mar 23, 2011 5:19 am

webzee wrote:I just have run "dist-upgrade" and now I see the screen resolution is 800*600

Nvidia-config says that I don't have nvidia drivers loaded, but in fact I have them installed.

I have all necessary modules.

What did I do wrong? I shouldn't run dist-upgrade? or install LMDE? or shouldn't buy notebook based on nvidia chip?


Did you follow the steps on the debian wiki? http://wiki.debian.org/NvidiaGraphicsDr ... allation-1

Did you run ’nvidia-xconfig'?

webzee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:13 pm

Re: resolution 800*600

Postby webzee » Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:11 am

yes, I had it installed. everything worked fine before dist-upgrade.

xconfig said that no nvidia drivers were loaded.

I just used script from sxmi.org to recover. It worked.

But I still wonder, if anyone should run this script or I did something wrong with upgrade or this was wrong upgrade or what?

User avatar
colossus75
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:59 pm

Re: resolution 800*600

Postby colossus75 » Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:21 am

webzee wrote:yes, I had it installed. everything worked fine before dist-upgrade.

xconfig said that no nvidia drivers were loaded.

I just used script from sxmi.org to recover. It worked.

But I still wonder, if anyone should run this script or I did something wrong with upgrade or this was wrong upgrade or what?



I had the same issue with the 32bit LMDE. For the mean time, I am holding back from getting the new xserver-common (under Update Manager), however, in Synaptic I hold back "xserver-common" and "xserver-xorg-core". I am doing my updating with Synaptic, since threads say that Update Manager isn't fully functional with LMDE. When I do the cli method of "sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade", it does all the available upgrades..and I can't prevent the install of the xserver stuff I held back with Synaptic...or rather, I don't know how to hold back stuff from the cli. Lucky I had a clonezilla image to restore from. Normally before I do any updates..I make a clonezilla image of my working LMDE 32 bit..just in case an new update breaks something. I am actually now having issues with a fresh install of LMDE 64bit..but I will put that in another thread. I am trying to dual-boot LMDE 64 and 32. Right now..only my 32bit LMDE is functional the way I need it to be and stable..with out those 2 xserver updates I mentioned above.
Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H
AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 2.6GHz
4GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
500GB Seagate SATA 3.5" 7200.11 [OS/data]
1TB (main data drive xfs)
1.5 TB rsync'd data drive xfs
400GB (virtual machine drive xfs)
OS : Mint Rosa 64bit


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest