Error in Mozilla repo ...

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
alirezaimi
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:18 am

Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby alirezaimi » Sun May 22, 2011 10:46 am

Hi
I want upgrade mozilla from this repo (deb http://mozilla.debian.net/ squeeze-backports iceweasel-4.0) ,But happend this error and not open this site (mozilla.debian.net/) :

Code: Select all

Failed to fetch http://mozilla.debian.net/dists/squeeze-backports/InRelease 
Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead.

Why?
Thanks.

User avatar
sumski
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:36 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby sumski » Sun May 22, 2011 11:36 am

Acer Extensa 5630G - Core2Duo T5800 2GHz , 4 GB ram, Ati Mobility 3650.
OpenSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.3
Debian Sid KDE 4.7.1/2

lmintnewb
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1571
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:13 pm

Re: Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby lmintnewb » Sun May 22, 2011 12:13 pm

Had the same thing happen once. Just immediately tried to add the mozilla repo again and it worked the second try. Not sure if it's the same situation here. Was attempting to add the official mozilla repo. But couldn't hurt I guess. Just try to add that repo again and see whatcha get. First time in my case ... got a similar error. Immediately tried again ... it was successful in adding the repo on the second try.

CiaW
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:39 am
Location: Spokane Wash, USA

Re: Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby CiaW » Sun May 22, 2011 2:03 pm


I was having the same issues yesterday, figured I'd just sit tight until whatever got sorted out. Thanks for the link, now I know what 'whatever' is!

alirezaimi
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:18 am

Re: Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby alirezaimi » Mon May 23, 2011 11:06 am

I dont understand ! server is down and ? .
please help me and explain what should i do .
thanks.

lmintnewb
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1571
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:13 pm

Re: Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby lmintnewb » Mon May 23, 2011 12:14 pm

Sounds like ya wait a bit and try again ...

If a servers down, it's down ... until it's back up again. Wouldn't think it'd take long with folks like mozilla or debian involved ... whichever it may be. So check every so often and try to add the ppa/repo you're after or do the upgrade ya want. At least that's what I do with the situation, shrugs.

jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby jeffreyC » Mon May 23, 2011 7:46 pm

You would think it would not take long, but it has been at least two days since the blog post about the server move and still nothing.
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0

lmintnewb
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1571
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:13 pm

Re: Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby lmintnewb » Mon May 23, 2011 7:51 pm

lol ... true. But that's the thing about opensource and great software people are willing to supply gratis ... Ya cannot demand a refund. ;) Though, sheesh ... one of these days soon gonna have to contribute to the glorious cause of awesome opensource software.

jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby jeffreyC » Mon May 23, 2011 8:36 pm

They expected to be done by late afternoon Sunday, in England.
From
http://debian.stevenrosenberg.net/index ... t-is-down/

by way of
http://lxer.com/
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0

gavinhc
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:53 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby gavinhc » Tue May 24, 2011 1:34 pm

It looks like http://mozilla.debian.net is back online, and with the new option to use Iceweasel from the aurora or beta channels. Finally a way to satisfy my itch for the next big thing out of Mozilla through an apt repository.
AMD Athlon II X4 630, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT 430 - 64-bit LMDE (Gnome3) tracking testing, 64-bit Archlinux, 32-bit Windows XP
Aluminum Unibody MacBook - MacOS X 10.7 "Lion"

alirezaimi
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 5:18 am

Re: Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby alirezaimi » Tue May 24, 2011 1:46 pm

gavinhc wrote:It looks like http://mozilla.debian.net is back online, and with the new option to use Iceweasel from the aurora or beta channels. Finally a way to satisfy my itch for the next big thing out of Mozilla through an apt repository.


Yes,Thanks.

craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 554
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole
Contact:

Re: Error in Mozilla repo ...

Postby craigevil » Tue May 24, 2011 11:34 pm

It is working.

# apt-cache policy iceweasel
iceweasel:
Installed: 5.0~b2-1
Candidate: 5.0~b2-1
Version table:
*** 5.0~b2-1 0
500 http://mozilla.debian.net/ experimental/iceweasel-5.0 i386 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
4.0.1-2 0
1 http://mirrors.kernel.org/debian/ experimental/main i386 Packages
3.5.19-2 0
500 http://mirrors.kernel.org/debian/ unstable/main i386 Packages

Shiny new Iceweasel.
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest