Registering to "latest" repository

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
roger64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 » Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:42 am

Hi

New on LMDE. I changed today my Debian repos to latest Mint repository.

This is what I did:

Image

Is it normal and expected to change three Debian repos to a single Mint one or did I do a mistake?
Mint is so strong? :o

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5025
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby tdockery97 » Thu Jul 07, 2011 10:55 am

My understanding is that you leave the Debian security and multimedia repos active also, as they have packages not in the Mint Debian repos.

The instructions are here: viewtopic.php?f=141&t=76556&start=0
Image

roger64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 » Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:56 am

Thanks for the info and the link. :)

I rescued my two Debian repos and I also downloaded and installed mintupdate-debian.

msm
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby msm » Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:38 pm

How did you download the mintupdate-debian? I tried earlier from the terminal and got a message saying the package could not be found.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6516
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby zerozero » Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:34 pm

hi msm,
after you changed sources.list according to your choice: latest to get a more "stable" LMDE, incoming to test issues, run

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install mintupdate-debian

tell us how it goes
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

roger64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 » Mon Jul 11, 2011 1:10 am

Hi

Latest update-pack.

After installing the zerozero way, mintupdate-debian with its nice update pack info button began working only a day later, when I restarted my computer. It informed me of the arrival on updatepack n°1 (mainly related things about codecs) and installed it without any hitch.

In the update info windows, I was informed of regressions for the arrival of some Gnome 3 components and that I could delay their install, but these components were actually not part of the update pack. .

So, I would say, it's working. For now, everything is quiet on the Western front. :)

grizzler
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby grizzler » Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:47 am

Actually, the codec related items weren't part of an update pack.
They're from the multimedia repository and will continue to come in as they are released.

Also, if you used to update regularly, the Gnome 3 components mentioned have probably already been installed. They predate the Update Pack system. Check your terminal window, the calculator and the system monitor.

roger64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 » Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:41 am

1. - I have been notified of the arrival of update pack n°1 with exactly these items

Image

2. - Indeed, my gnome-terminal is now Gnome 3 and working well though the drop down menus looks a little old-fashioned, Clearlooks like.
calculatrice (gcalctool) is v. 6.02 and has the same Clearlooks style too (not my everyday use anyway).
moniteur système is v. 3.0.1 and the same as above.
Gnome 3 is creeping in... :)

(mistake)

msm
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby msm » Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:13 am

zerozero wrote:hi msm,
after you changed sources.list according to your choice: latest to get a more "stable" LMDE, incoming to test issues, run

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install mintupdate-debian

tell us how it goes


I changed the sources.list to the latest as you described in here: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 56&start=0 and first ran the sudo apt-get update and then ran sudo apt-get install mintupdate-debian, but still get the package not found error. Weird...

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6516
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby zerozero » Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:17 am

msm,
please show us the output of

Code: Select all

cat /etc/apt/sources.list

and

Code: Select all

apt-cache policy mintupdate-debian
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

msm
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby msm » Mon Jul 11, 2011 1:33 pm

Here you go:

Code: Select all

$ cat /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main non-free



Code: Select all

$ apt-cache policy mintupdate-debian
N: Ignoring file 'google-chrome.list.save' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'google-talkplugin.list.save' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Unable to locate package mintupdate-debian

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6516
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby zerozero » Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:58 pm

well it's as you said weird :lol: the repos are right; apt-cache policy shows errors related to the repos in sources.list.d, maybe that's why can't find mintupdate; if you do a

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
the result is clear or do you see any errors? like couldn't refresh the list... old ones were used (or something similar, i don't recall the exact wording)

also you can see in synaptic and do a search for mintupdate, the pkg should come up, and mark it to install (if the apt-get update is performing correctly)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

msm
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby msm » Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:05 pm

Doing a sudo apt-get update goes well as such, but the last lines show these errors:

Code: Select all

N: Ignoring file 'google-chrome.list.save' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'google-talkplugin.list.save' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
N: Ignoring file 'dropbox.list.save' in directory '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension
E: Release file expired, ignoring http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/dists/testing/Release (invalid since 5h 42min 53s)


Would this have an impact?

Edit: Synaptic Manager indicates that mintupdate version 4.3.2 is already installed.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6516
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby zerozero » Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:14 pm

i believe it's that last line; i saw another post already with the same error: something with the server, the repo is not being reached;
my advise will be to wait
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

msm
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby msm » Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:50 pm

Ok, I'll wait. Thanks for your replies.

roger64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:05 am

The "first" one :) (I forgot to give this screenshot)

Image

User avatar
Dr.m0x
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:12 am

Re: Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby Dr.m0x » Tue Jul 12, 2011 6:00 am

grizzler wrote:Actually, the codec related items weren't part of an update pack.
They're from the multimedia repository and will continue to come in as they are released.

Also, if you used to update regularly, the Gnome 3 components mentioned have probably already been installed. They predate the Update Pack system. Check your terminal window, the calculator and the system monitor.


I was wondering why my fonts were all messed up in the terminal.

---
Sent from my Cyanogenmod-ified phone.
Image

roger64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Re: Registering to

Postby roger64 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:07 am

Dr.m0x wrote:I was wondering why my fonts were all messed up in the terminal.

If I judge from mine, this is unrelated. The only thing I noticed is a theme change for the applications concerned, but not a font quality difference.

User avatar
SimonTS
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1271
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby SimonTS » Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:49 am

@Roger,

Did you ever resolve that issue with the Repo? I asked the same question in a different thread and ZeroZero was kind enough to answer me, but I saw no update on this one.

Code: Select all

gksudo gedit /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/80mintupdate-debian


Just put one line in there;-
Acquire::Check-Valid-Until "false";


Save it and you should be good to go.

roger64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:48 am

Re: Registering to "latest" repository

Postby roger64 » Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:11 am

@Simon TS

No problem with my install. I've this Acquire line in place and mintupdtate-debian install is in order. Thanks.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests