Cannot change LMDE frequency scaling on Pentium 4 (Solved)

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
mint123
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:44 pm

Cannot change LMDE frequency scaling on Pentium 4 (Solved)

Postby mint123 » Tue Jul 19, 2011 1:17 am

I've spent all evening trying to solve this with no success. I have 2 fresh LMDE installs with (Squeeze repos) that are stuck at their highest clockspeed. One is on a 2.8Ghz desktop and after 15 minutes of use, the fan sounds like a that of a car's radiator!

running

Code: Select all

cpufreq-info
results in no known, or an unknown processor type. I can fix this by running

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe p4_clockmod


then cpufreq-info shows the current cpu speed (which is always the highest capable of the processor), the governor setting (always Performance) and all the available clockspeed increments and governors. The System Profiler confirms the high CPU speeds.

If I modify /etc/sysfs.conf by adding

devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor = ondemand

for each cpu core, nothing changes and upon rebooting, cpufreq-info then shows that there is no known processor again. If I install the cpu frequency scaler applet into the panel, I can change the clockspeed to any of the available increments the processor allows but changing the governor has no effect. This also doesn't survive reboots.

I've found instructions on the forum here and other places to run

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install --reinstall cpufrequtils powernowd sysfsutils


and then do what I've written above but this still does not work for me.

Any help please? I had this problem in Julia but reconfiguring /etc/cpufreqd.conf solved it. This doesn't seem like it will be so quick and easy.
Last edited by mint123 on Tue Jul 19, 2011 3:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19386
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Cannot change LMDE frequency scaling on Pentium 4

Postby xenopeek » Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:35 am

You need to add p4_clockmod to /etc/modules for it to work after reboot.
On terminal run:

Code: Select all

gksudo gedit /etc/modules

Add line at end:

Code: Select all

p4-clockmod


Edit: p4-clockmod instead of p4_clockmod
Last edited by xenopeek on Tue Jul 19, 2011 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

mint123
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: Cannot change LMDE frequency scaling on Pentium 4 (Solve

Postby mint123 » Tue Jul 19, 2011 3:27 pm

Thank you vincent, that worked but I had to change it to p4-clockmod with a dash in place of the underscore. This is how it is listed in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu'X'/cpufreq/scaling_driver.

The strange thing though is that on both computers, this sets the governor to userspace but the cpu still scales up and down. I thought userspace was a user set single clockspeed. Doesn't really matter as long as the cpu is scaling. :D

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19386
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Cannot change LMDE frequency scaling on Pentium 4 (Solve

Postby xenopeek » Tue Jul 19, 2011 3:41 pm

Great :D Happy it is resolved.
Image


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests