Thinking about making the switch to LMDE

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
mystika1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:37 pm

Thinking about making the switch to LMDE

Postby mystika1 » Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:30 pm

Hi,
I have used PCLinuxOS and am currently using Kubuntu. I am liking Kubuntu so far but I do like the idea of a rolling release and am thinking about installing LMDE. I ran the live cd this morning and ran into a snag. Being new to linux I have had great luck with auto detection of my video card(nvidia 8800) and have only needed to activate the driver to properly use my card. With LMDE I will have to manually install the card because it shows nothing as being detected. Is there a way to turn on or enable an auto detect for hardware?

Also...I am really used to KDE environments. If I understood this correctly in another thread that I posted last night I would need to install packages to convert my desktop over to KDE. I would like the standard KDE desktop so would I install everything on this list from this site to give me what I need to get KDE working correctly? http://packages.debian.org/squeeze/kde-standard

Thanks,

Penny

User avatar
joutlan
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:16 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Thinking about making the switch to LMDE

Postby joutlan » Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:28 pm

mystika1 wrote:Hi,
I have used PCLinuxOS and am currently using Kubuntu. I am liking Kubuntu so far but I do like the idea of a rolling release and am thinking about installing LMDE. I ran the live cd this morning and ran into a snag. Being new to linux I have had great luck with auto detection of my video card(nvidia 8800) and have only needed to activate the driver to properly use my card. With LMDE I will have to manually install the card because it shows nothing as being detected. Is there a way to turn on or enable an auto detect for hardware?

Also...I am really used to KDE environments. If I understood this correctly in another thread that I posted last night I would need to install packages to convert my desktop over to KDE. I would like the standard KDE desktop so would I install everything on this list from this site to give me what I need to get KDE working correctly? http://packages.debian.org/squeeze/kde-standard

Thanks,

Penny


Hi Penny.....it's no problem....just install the latest nvidia driver and nvidia-settings from Synaptic....it will pull in everything it needs....go for it !! (I use Nvidia also)
DΞLL Precision M6600: "Big Dog" i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro 4000M 2.0GB DDR3, Intel 6250//ScientificLinux x64/Win7Pro x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 "Nirvana" Linux Mint 13 MATE//Win764Pro

User avatar
vrkalak
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4414
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Thinking about making the switch to LMDE

Postby vrkalak » Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:30 pm

My my understanding, one of the Mint Devs is working on developing a KDE version of LMDE?

How far off, it is, I do not know.
Image
:: Debian-Sid (Xfce/Fluxbox) :: LinuxMint-18 (LTS) LXDE w/Openbox ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: My DeviantART Page

User avatar
joutlan
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 4:16 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Thinking about making the switch to LMDE

Postby joutlan » Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:43 pm

vrkalak wrote:My my understanding, one of the Mint Devs is working on developing a KDE version of LMDE?

How far off, it is, I do not know.


I would be one happy camper and donor if they did !! :)
DΞLL Precision M6600: "Big Dog" i7-820QM, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, RGBLED, nVidia Quadro 4000M 2.0GB DDR3, Intel 6250//ScientificLinux x64/Win7Pro x64
DΞLL Vostro 3350 "Nirvana" Linux Mint 13 MATE//Win764Pro


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests