Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
mjw1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:49 am

Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby mjw1 » Wed Apr 27, 2011 2:16 pm

Just wondering how its working after the the mint update, update.

thanks
m

RHTopics
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 2:32 pm

Re: Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby RHTopics » Wed Apr 27, 2011 2:38 pm

Yes I am tracking stable (squeeze).

The last upgrade package that I applied for "mintupdate" occurred on April 12.

No problems after the applying it, but then I don't use mint update. Instead, I do:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

Tracking stable is so far working out well.

User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1073
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Re: Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby rivenathos » Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:52 pm

I have one hard drive tracking Stable just for an experiment. Thus far, everything is super-smooth sailing. It is somewhat boring, actually. Ha, ha, ha...

Telecaster72
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:59 am

Re: Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby Telecaster72 » Wed Apr 27, 2011 5:35 pm

Squeeze here too, all is fine, also a little bored! :lol:

User avatar
Cliff
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:36 am
Location: North carolina, USA

Re: Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby Cliff » Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:17 am

Hi, I locked to Stable-Sqeeze in early March.
I had one problem but I'm not sure it's a OS problem or not.
My keyboard appeared to be faulty, I had to use xvkbd while another one was ordered - however before it arrived it "fixed" itself and is still working. This is on a Dell Inspiron 1545.
I'm very pleased with the Stable Release - Rock solid. I use all updates via command line with no apparent issues.
I also had a friend that was having a few problems with the rolling release, he also reinstalled, locked to Squeeze & updated with no problems. He likes the stability of stable better, as I do.
We will both reinstall when a new stable arrives, which is easy - we both have separate root & home partitions.

Cheers, Cliff

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5020
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby tdockery97 » Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:57 am

Also tracking stable. No problems here either.

burtb08
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 8:25 am

Re: Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby burtb08 » Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:52 pm

All is well with squeeze here as well

mjw1
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:49 am

Re: Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby mjw1 » Sun May 01, 2011 3:58 am

thanks for the update.
I feel a re-install coming,nothing really broken but a few things are slightly "bent" :)

User avatar
vrkalak
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4428
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby vrkalak » Sun May 01, 2011 11:04 pm

mjw1 wrote:thanks for the update.
I feel a re-install coming,nothing really broken but a few things are slightly "bent" :)


I agree with this statement. . . nothing wrong with my LMDE, but something didn't feel quite right.

. . . so last Friday . . . I re-installed LMDE-Xfce.
About an hour later, I removed LMDE-Xfce and installed LMDE (gnome)
Then in 30 minutes deleted that partition and again re-installed LMDE-Xfce.

I couldn't make up my mind . . . :?

I finally, kept LMDE-Xfce and changed the sources.list to reflect Squeeze 'stable' and added +backports.
After install (the one I kept) I did an apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade . . . had all of 22 updates.

On my 'for work' PC I have and use a straight Debian 6 Squeeze (Xfce) still set to stable.
Works great, as I need stability for my working OS.
Image
:: Debian-Sid (Xfce/Fluxbox) :: LinuxMint-18 (LTS) LXDE w/Openbox ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: My DeviantART Page

Telecaster72
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:59 am

Re: Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby Telecaster72 » Mon May 02, 2011 3:42 am

vrkalak wrote:
I agree with this statement. . . nothing wrong with my LMDE, but something didn't feel quite right.


It's the BF kicking in (bore-factor) :D I keep my BF in check with distro-surfing in virtualbox.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6514
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby zerozero » Mon May 02, 2011 12:22 pm

i'm glad to see that lmde-stable is working well for you 8)

if it's not asking to much, i think one how-to could be useful, just my 2cents, if someone wants to grab the idea.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

Telecaster72
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:59 am

Re: Anyone still tracking stable (squeeze)

Postby Telecaster72 » Mon May 02, 2011 1:17 pm

zerozero wrote:i'm glad to see that lmde-stable is working well for you 8)

if it's not asking to much, i think one how-to could be useful, just my 2cents, if someone wants to grab the idea.


Open your sources.list file

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

Change every "testing" to "squeeze" and save.

For example:
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free
becomes:
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian squeeze main contrib non-free

You might want to add backports too:

Code: Select all

deb http://backports.debian.org/debian-backports squeeze-backports main


Some info about backports: http://backports.debian.org/
Current packages in backports: http://packages.debian.org/squeeze-backports/
That's it...i think :wink:

Worth to mention is that you can encounter some trouble if you uninstall software that you had installed before you switched and then want to install the same software. That happened to me when i removed k3b and later tried to install it, it didn't work since the older version in squeeze didnt like the newer dependecies i already had on my lmde. So i had to change back to testing, install it and then change to squeeze again after it installed.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests