Testing to Squeeze Question

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Carmel, Midwest USA at /var/www
Contact:

Testing to Squeeze Question

Postby DataMan » Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:15 am

Briefly, I'm running parallel universe's (dark matter & white matter aka 2 installs of Mint Debian). I have one of the installs that I hope to move to my production build status (i.e. use on a daily basis as my default ops). The other one is volatile (i.e. use as a test bed for new apps and aggressive updates). I would like to deploy the production at the "squeeze" level for the sake of stability. The other ops would remain at "testing".

This all brings me to my question which I would appreciate feedback from collective-in-the-know. Are there any consequences I should be aware of in taking an install from a "testing" to a "squeeze" repository level?

TIA,

-DataMan
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5021
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Testing to Squeeze Question

Postby tdockery97 » Sat Aug 13, 2011 10:17 am

At this point I'm not sure you could safely downgrade to Squeeze from an up-to-date Testing install. There have been more than 1,000 updates since Squeeze came out in February, many of which I'm sure would conflict with current Squeeze dependencies. IMO it would be safer to do a fresh install of the 201101 LMDE iso, change the /etc/apt/sources.list to point to Squeeze before doing any updates, then apply the updates. That way you will have a pure Squeeze system.
Image

Dyfi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:25 am

Re: Testing to Squeeze Question

Postby Dyfi » Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:09 pm

An excellent starting point would be found in the Mint Community Tutorial Section.

There is a complete guide to setting up LMDE-Squeeze from a fresh install.

Dyfi

User avatar
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Carmel, Midwest USA at /var/www
Contact:

Re: Testing to Squeeze Question

Postby DataMan » Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:30 pm

Dyfi:

Thanks for your response. I'm more than familiar with how to set up a native Squeeze (which was not a question in my post).

Tdocketr97:

The reason for the migration from a "testing" to "squeeze" is that some of the apps that I use build out to the correct version in testing but not in a native squeeze build. My reasoning was to build and stabilize in testing then change the repositories over to squeeze for stability. I put this into play recently and weathered the 3.0 kernel upgrade ok while in squeeze.

Thanks,

-DataMan
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests