Nothing to do!

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
rosswmcgee
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:29 pm

Nothing to do!

Postby rosswmcgee » Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:38 pm

I may have forgotten but it seems to me that MInt lmde is the first distro that required no adjustments to Java. Everything just works at least for me. Applets

too!. I am so impressed with LMDE!

wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3420
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Nothing to do!

Postby wayne128 » Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:44 pm

good to read that you are happy,

just a note, many other distros also have java installed and work out of the box
some distros had sun java preinstalled

User avatar
Oscar799
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9433
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Nothing to do!

Postby Oscar799 » Wed Dec 14, 2011 7:48 am

Moved here by moderator
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789

rosswmcgee
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:29 pm

Re: Nothing to do!

Postby rosswmcgee » Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:36 am

I notice that there are very few updates on lmde having used it for some time now. I would have expected more. We use two mints, and one Debian Squeeze.

Debian Sqeeze gets many up dates but weeks can go by without LMDE having one. I would have thought since LMDE is right on the cutting edge

there would be more. Perhaps it has to do with Gnome 3 vs. Gnome 2 ??

I have had zero problems with LMDE.

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5022
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Nothing to do!

Postby tdockery97 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:43 am

rosswmcgee wrote:I notice that there are very few updates on lmde having used it for some time now. I would have expected more. We use two mints, and one Debian Squeeze.

Debian Sqeeze gets many up dates but weeks can go by without LMDE having one. I would have thought since LMDE is right on the cutting edge

The reason is the default update method used by LMDE. You won't get updates until they have been tested by the Mint team. So when they are released to the users you could have a gigabyte or more of updates to apply.
Image

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2929
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Nothing to do!

Postby Monsta » Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:13 pm

Funny... when I saw this thread's title, I was almost sure it would be something like viewtopic.php?f=60&t=88715 :D

rosswmcgee
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:29 pm

Re: Nothing to do!

Postby rosswmcgee » Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:23 pm

OK that explains it, thanks. The way things are going I see no need for another distro experiment, with LMDE never needing to be replaced.

When my wifes Mint 9 needs to be replaced I will do so with LMDE.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests