compiz and glxinfo

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
jtouso
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:02 am

compiz and glxinfo

Postby jtouso » Sat Nov 06, 2010 8:23 am

Hi,
Trying compiz in EeePc 901 but...glxinfo says>

mint@mint ~ $ glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual or fbconfig

Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".

Help me to install all I need to use compiz
Thanks

User avatar
richyrich
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6795
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: compiz and glxinfo

Postby richyrich » Sat Nov 06, 2010 9:39 am

Depending on the kind of graphics card or integrated graphics solution installed on your computer, there are different steps involved in preparing them for a 3D composited desktop. The guides below, organised by manufacturer, will discuss your options, inform you about potential problems, and show you sample configurations that have been known to work well for most people.


http://wiki.compiz.org/Hardware

http://wiki.compiz.org/
Image

jtouso
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:02 am

Re: compiz and glxinfo

Postby jtouso » Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:06 am

Thanks.
I run compiz-check (the script to know if compiz is ok) and the answer is:

./compiz-check
No protocol specified
xdpyinfo: unable to open display ":0.0".
No protocol specified
/usr/bin/xset: unable to open display ":0.0"

Gathering information about your system...

Distribution: Linux Mint
No protocol specified
xprop: unable to open display ':0.0'
Desktop environment: Unknown
Graphics chip: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
Driver in use: intel
No protocol specified
xvinfo: Unable to open display :0.0
No protocol specified
xdpyinfo: unable to open display ":0.0".
Rendering method: AIGLX

Checking if it's possible to run Compiz on your system...

Checking for texture_from_pixmap... [FAIL]
Checking for non power of two support... [FAIL]
Checking for composite extension...No protocol specified
xdpyinfo: unable to open display ":0.0".
[FAIL]
Checking for FBConfig... [FAIL]
Checking for hardware/setup problems...No protocol specified
/usr/bin/xset: unable to open display ":0.0"
No protocol specified
xdpyinfo: unable to open display ":0.0".
[SKIP]

At least one check had to be skipped:
Error: Unable to detect maximum 3D texture size

Help me.
The asus eeepc 901 works without problem with ubuntu, guadalinex, auroraos...with compiz. In all of them glxinfo and glxgears runs without prblems

User avatar
richyrich
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6795
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: compiz and glxinfo

Postby richyrich » Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:13 am

Graphics chip: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)


http://wiki.compiz.org/Hardware/Intel
Image

bulva
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:12 am

Re: compiz and glxinfo

Postby bulva » Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:36 am

I have exacly the same problem, need glx support for Google-Earth and Java rendering libraries.

I ran:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dri libgl1-mesa-glx

Then:

Code: Select all

bulva@Emperor ~ $ inxi -G
Graphics:  Card Intel Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller X.Org 1.7.7 Res: 1280x800@60.0hz, 848x480@30.0hz
           GLX Renderer N/A GLX Version N/A
bulva@Emperor ~ $

So nothing, even after restarting X's. I noticed there is no xorg.conf under /etc/X11/xorg.conf. Ran:

Code: Select all

sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
and pasted there:

Code: Select all

Section "Device"
   Identifier   "Configured Video Device"
   Driver   "intel"
EndSection


Works for now.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest