Rhythmbox at Startup

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
Dyfi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:25 am

Rhythmbox at Startup

Postby Dyfi » Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:56 pm

Hi,

Every time I boot into LMDE Rhythmnbox starts up. This is an irritation and I wonder does anyone know how to prevent this please?

Thanks in advance,

Dyfi.

User avatar
kwevej
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 582
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:35 pm
Location: Delft / Prague [@ LMDE]

Re: Rhythmbox at Startup

Postby kwevej » Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:44 pm

find 'startup applications' in the menu
disable that beast there

Dyfi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:25 am

Re: Rhythmbox at Startup

Postby Dyfi » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:47 am

Thanks for the reply. I have tried in startup applications but unfortunately Rhythmbox is not listed.

There must be code to prevent it from starting, or, details of how to manually edit the offending config file.

I remain hopeful that someone has the answer!

Dyfi.

User avatar
Elisa
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:46 am

Re: Rhythmbox at Startup

Postby Elisa » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:59 am

Check /etc/init.d if it's listed there...
Linux/Unix is about freedom, Windows about slavery.

md5 / sha1 check [how-to for NEWBIES] :idea:

Score: 43 I have some hippie in me. Cool, man 8)
Take the elitemrp.net "Are you a Hippie?" Test

Dyfi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:25 am

Re: Rhythmbox at Startup

Postby Dyfi » Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:18 am

Can`t see it there as rhythmbox
Dyfi

User avatar
Elisa
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:46 am

Re: Rhythmbox at Startup

Postby Elisa » Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:27 am

It should be /etc/init
like described here:
viewtopic.php?f=47&t=58534

I couldn't remember the url of that thread :lol:
Linux/Unix is about freedom, Windows about slavery.

md5 / sha1 check [how-to for NEWBIES] :idea:

Score: 43 I have some hippie in me. Cool, man 8)
Take the elitemrp.net "Are you a Hippie?" Test

Dyfi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:25 am

Re: Rhythmbox at Startup

Postby Dyfi » Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:38 pm

Thanks for all the information. I have taken the easy way out and uninstalled Rhythmbox - now trying Banshee!

Regards,

Dyfi

Scorpio_Snake
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:22 am

Re: Rhythmbox at Startup

Postby Scorpio_Snake » Sat Nov 13, 2010 6:06 pm

In case anyone else might be having a similar problem, I noticed that when in the Mint menu if you right click on an application there is a box to check to launch when you log in. It is possible that you accidentally checked that at some point and unchecking it might have solved the problem.

Dyfi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:25 am

Re: Rhythmbox at Startup

Postby Dyfi » Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:01 am

Hi,

The problem was probably just that - so easy when you know how.

Banshee is working fine so will not reinstall Rhythmbox just yet.

Very impressed generally with LMDE, so fast and light!

Regards,

Dyfi.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests