[Solved] Gnome 3 wont start after extensions install

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Infra
Level 1
Level 1

[Solved] Gnome 3 wont start after extensions install

Post by Infra »

Hello , I'm new to Linux but slowly learning my way. I installed Mint 12 two days ago and started tweaking it for power ( running on laptop ) , user interface , etc . Usually when I bump into some problem a quick Google search would resolve it but I couldnt find any info on this particular one.
So after installing themes and overall customizing Gnome 3 the way it suits me I found this website https://extensions.gnome.org/ and went into extension installing spree and everything was ok for 5 minutes . After that both top and bottom gnome 3 panels flashed for 1 second and just disappeared . I thought a restart would fix it but alas the same thing happened - quick flash on both panels and they are nowhere to be found , no keyboard shortcuts , the only way to open terminal is to right click desktop and start it from there and after a while using it the OS would just hang needing a restart . I could open the file explorer and navigate with it though. I don't know how to describe it better , but I'm sure its the extensions that are causing this problem. I can't open the advanced gnome tweak tool because there is no menu ( no idea what the terminal command is ) to disable them. I'm hoping that there is a fix that does not involve reinstalling the whole OS from scratch.

P.S I'm running on 64 bit Linux mint 12.I noticed the above described problem on somewhat fresh install - It would flash , disappear and then reappear - simillar to when you kill explorer.exe in WIndows , however this time its not reappearing.

Thank you in advance.
Last edited by Infra on Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
lurkatron
Level 3
Level 3

Re: Gnome 3 wont start after extensions install

Post by lurkatron »