Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
alesprea
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:30 pm

Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by alesprea » Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:02 pm

Hi, I have installed Linux Mint 19 Mate edition but,
when caja is in full screen (maximized), in icon view and I'm visiting a folder with lot of files (such as appears a scroll bar), if I try to rename a file I can not do.
Can someone fix this bug? Other people other than me are affected by this bug?

gm10
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9138
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by gm10 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:33 pm

Works fine for me.

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5658
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by all41 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:47 pm

fwiw:
I also cannot duplicate this report. Opened a file with hundreds of mp3s and could rename in full screen icon view no problem.
Perhaps ownership issues?

User avatar
sdibaja
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 688
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Baja California, Mexico

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by sdibaja » Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:23 pm

@ alesprea
what manner are you using to rename?

I left-click to select, then right-click and the file or folder name is now editable.
Can you explain please
Peter
Mate desktop https://mate-desktop.org/
Debian GNU/Linux operating system: https://cdimage.debian.org/images/unoff ... -firmware/

alesprea
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:30 pm

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by alesprea » Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:39 am

@sdibaja in the same way you described
@all41 talking about mp3 files I discovered that the problem is in this folder /home/ale/Documenti (but not in his subfolders), in other folders like this /home/ale/Musica it works

What it can be? Documents folder is buggy? Same permission problems? The installation is 3 days old so don't think I have done something wrong

UPDATE:
I discover that in the buggy folder if change the size of the left side part where there are the computer resources ( like Desktop, File System, Documents, Downloads, Music etc etc) the behavior change:
if is so small that in the window are shown 8 icon in a row I can rename files, if is so large that in a row are shown only 6 icon is also okay, but with 7 icon in a row( the default for this folder) it occurs the bug.
UPDATE 2:
I deleted from that folder this file "arthur_c_clarke_history_lesson-1949-(consigliato dal prof Massimo Marchiori).pdf" and can't reproduce the bug anymore: maybe has a too long name? Maybe linux don't like underscore?
UPDATE 3 (I hope last):
If I create another file with such long name(for example 100 characters, linux support is max 256) (while the previusly mention file is deleted) and I try to rename a file I cannot do the renaming in a maximized windows, with icon view with 7 icon in a raw, and the scroll bar must be present( so enough element that is appears).
With this requirements I'm able to reproduce the bug in whatever folder in the system.

Can someone reproduce the bug with this requirements?

User avatar
sdibaja
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 688
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Baja California, Mexico

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by sdibaja » Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:10 am

I am unable to reproduce.
maybe you should report it here:
https://github.com/mate-desktop/caja/issues
Peter
Mate desktop https://mate-desktop.org/
Debian GNU/Linux operating system: https://cdimage.debian.org/images/unoff ... -firmware/

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5658
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by all41 » Tue Aug 21, 2018 11:43 am

Hi @alesprea,

I am unable to duplicate your latest report using Caja 1.20.2 regardless of the parent directory location or contents with file names up to 256 length (including spaces underscores and extensions). Caja expectedly reports an error if the 256 limit is exceeded---other than that I can rename any file under my ownership
which also has write permissions.

AlbertWagner
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:56 am

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by AlbertWagner » Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:51 pm

You don't have to LEFT click to select. If you LEFT click then some action is going to take place, e.g. open a folder, or a file. You just need to RIGHT click on an item to drop down the menu that contains the rename selection; then LEFT click to select "rename". Then the name can be renamed. If the name is longer than the active box, then just keep typing; the box will expand/scroll left.

User avatar
Joe2Shoe
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 429
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:12 pm
Location: Ozone

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by Joe2Shoe » Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:12 pm

I have LM19 Mate 64-bit installed on 2 laptops, and I have this renaming scenario quite often, but if I exit the File Manager, then reopen it, then right-click to rename a file, it works. Go figure.
"Tolerance is the refuge of men without conviction."
"Common sense is not so common" - Voltaire

User avatar
Pepas
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:18 am
Contact:

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by Pepas » Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:53 pm

Same here, it sometimes happens, but restarting caja solves it. It is a real bug, but I don't know of a consistent way to reproduce it.

antcj
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:17 pm

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by antcj » Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:15 pm

ive just struck this as well
Mint mate 19.1
Downloads folder ,at full screen unable to change name of folder (sub folders no problem)
If i drag the screen smaller then i can rename the folder

had a stab at this
chmod -R 777 /home/user/Downloads/

then killall caja

seems ok now

User avatar
sdibaja
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 688
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Baja California, Mexico

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by sdibaja » Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:58 pm

has anybody filed a bug report? (I looked, I don't see any reports on this)

I can't reproduce it so a third hand report does no good.

https://github.com/mate-desktop/caja/issues
Peter
Mate desktop https://mate-desktop.org/
Debian GNU/Linux operating system: https://cdimage.debian.org/images/unoff ... -firmware/

gm10
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9138
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by gm10 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:08 pm

sdibaja wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:58 pm
I can't reproduce it so a third hand report does no good.
I don't believe anybody here was able to reliably reproduce this yet so I'm not sure any bug report would be all that useful at this point, in particular since it would be for an old version of the software. I've got the git master version of Caja 1.23.1 installed so if anybody comes up with a proper repro I'd be happy to check if the issue persists and only then would a bug report really make sense IMHO.
Tune up your LM 19.x: ppa:gm10/linuxmint-tools

User avatar
sdibaja
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 688
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Baja California, Mexico

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by sdibaja » Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:13 pm

what version of Caja is being provided by Mint?
Debian Stable and Testing both have 1.20.3
Peter
Mate desktop https://mate-desktop.org/
Debian GNU/Linux operating system: https://cdimage.debian.org/images/unoff ... -firmware/

gm10
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9138
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by gm10 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:35 pm

sdibaja wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:13 pm
what version of Caja is being provided by Mint?
Debian Stable and Testing both have 1.20.3
LM 19 and LM 19.1 have Caja 1.20.2 and LM 19.2 will have Caja 1.22.1.
Tune up your LM 19.x: ppa:gm10/linuxmint-tools

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5658
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by all41 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:51 pm

gm10 wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:35 pm
sdibaja wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:13 pm
what version of Caja is being provided by Mint?
Debian Stable and Testing both have 1.20.3
LM 19 and LM 19.1 have Caja 1.20.2 and LM 19.2 will have Caja 1.22.1.
I could not reproduce this problem there either

gm10
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9138
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by gm10 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:57 pm

all41 wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:51 pm
gm10 wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:35 pm
sdibaja wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:13 pm
what version of Caja is being provided by Mint?
Debian Stable and Testing both have 1.20.3
LM 19 and LM 19.1 have Caja 1.20.2 and LM 19.2 will have Caja 1.22.1.
I could not reproduce this problem there either
Yeah, me neither. alesprea had the most promising repro but I've never managed to reproduce it with any version of Caja. Maybe there are certain extensions, settings or filesystems involved. I couldn't say.
Last edited by gm10 on Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tune up your LM 19.x: ppa:gm10/linuxmint-tools

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5658
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by all41 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:01 pm

gm10 wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:57 pm
all41 wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:51 pm
gm10 wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:35 pm


LM 19 and LM 19.1 have Caja 1.20.2 and LM 19.2 will have Caja 1.22.1.
I could not reproduce this problem there either
Yeah, me neither. alesprea had the most promising repro but I've never managed to reproduce it with any version of Caja. Maybe there are certain extensions, settings of filesystems involved. I couldn't say.
I just replied to a post where op has window tiling enabled--hmmm
I'll try to reproduce with that function running.

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5658
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Caja 1.20.2 rename bug

Post by all41 » Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:19 pm

OK I could not duplicate the issue with tiling enabled.
Just thinking--op reported the issue in full screen mode that perhaps tiling to full screen could be the
trigger--but no luck

Post Reply

Return to “MATE”