[SOLVED] Want Location bar by default: Nautilus (Mint 13 RC)

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Olson
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 4:42 am

[SOLVED] Want Location bar by default: Nautilus (Mint 13 RC)

Post by Olson »

can't find a way to do this in mint 13. Hate breadcrumbs.. upset I spend 2 hours looking for solution so far.. would like help please. I will not press ctrl + L for it in every single screen.

gconf-editor does not work anymore.. it has apps -> mautilus -> preferences and "start_with_location_bar" though blue "i" and "This key has no schema". Selecting it does nothing.

Code: Select all

gsettings set org.gnome.nautilus.preferences always-use-location-entry true
doesn't work:

Code: Select all

No such schema 'org.gnome.nautilus.preferences'
Tried install dconf-editor to get some new version of gconf, no settings in there for nautilus in latest mint where one would expect:

org > nautilus > preferences and check the always-use-location-entry box.. nope. :|

would appreciate clarification.

Im using brand new Mint13 MATE RC installed today (well, yesterday now)

cheers
Last edited by Olson on Sat May 19, 2012 3:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
xpander
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:59 am

Re: Want Location bar by default in Nautilus (Mint 13 MATE R

Post by xpander »

mateconf-editor

apps->caja->preferences

search for "allways_use_location_entry" and tick it


as a NOTE! there is no nautilus in mate. its caja. fork of older nautilus.
Linux Gaming Videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/Xpander666?feature=mhee
-----------
Gfire - Xfire For Pidgin
Olson
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 4:42 am

[SOLVED] Want Location bar by default: Nautilus (Mint 13 RC)

Post by Olson »

Ow wow.. as easy as that.. thank you so much, that means a lot to me right now :)

Happy again! :D
Lantesh
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Want Location bar by default: Nautilus (Mint 13

Post by Lantesh »

Anyone have a fix for those of using Cinnamon? In previous versions of Mint I used this command:

Code: Select all

gconftool-2 --type=Boolean --set /apps/nautilus/preferences/always_use_location_entry true
It no longer works. :(
Lantesh
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Want Location bar by default: Nautilus (Mint 13

Post by Lantesh »

Nevermind. I found it. For those that need it:

Code: Select all

gsettings set org.gnome.nautilus.preferences always-use-location-entry true
To switch back:

Code: Select all

gsettings set org.gnome.nautilus.preferences always-use-location-entry false
Edit: Ok I now see that I'm an idiot, as this is exactly what Olsen has listed in the first post.
Post Reply

Return to “MATE”