Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Ivan76
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 7:30 am

Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by Ivan76 »

Guys where is the option to be enabled in register x enable compiz in Mate???
groggin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 11:41 am

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by groggin »

use synaptic to get compiz fusion icon, install, run and tweak to your liking
robertlafler
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by robertlafler »

I did install compiz and fusion icon but when I try to launch Compiz Fusion Icon nothing happens. It doesn't load to the system tray and I can't find a process for it in System Monitor. i try to manually launch with this in terminal:

compiz --replace

It failed a couple of times but when I just tried it to get the error to post it worked this time. So I will add this command to Startup Applications. Next to get Emerald loaded.
groggin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 11:41 am

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by groggin »

lol, i have the same problem :?

Code: Select all

groggin@~~~~~~~~:~$ fusion-icon
 * Detected Session: mate
 * Searching for installed applications...
Segmentation fault (core dumped)
but i'm in ArtistX, the upgrade to 13.4 killed it
mbalazs81
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 12:38 am

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by mbalazs81 »

Linux Mint Cinnamon
pgyure
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:13 pm

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by pgyure »

Guys,

The links above will not work either. I've checked them before I came to the forum.
Certain functions are simply not working. I don't think we can do anything as the Team replaced the mateconf-editor with gsettings. Maybe that's the source of the problem...
User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9883
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by catweazel »

pgyure wrote:The links above will not work either. I've checked them before I came to the forum.
Certain functions are simply not working. I don't think we can do anything as the Team replaced the mateconf-editor with gsettings. Maybe that's the source of the problem...
The real problem is that compiz is pretty much dead. If you want wobbly windows, gliding dialog boxes, desktop cubes, and goodness knows what else desktop effects, wait for Mint 15 KDE and use that. It's all built-in, so there's no compatibility issues.
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.
mbalazs81
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2011 12:38 am

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by mbalazs81 »

Not perfect but working somewhat. With emerald: http://www.webupd8.org/2013/05/how-to-i ... -1304.html
use dconf-editor instead of mateconf-editor. to startup programs: "compiz --replace", "emerald --replace".

http://kepkezelo.com/images/m71kz0ys1183dhdejz9.png

But this is very buggy at me.
Linux Mint Cinnamon
alexisg
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:01 pm

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by alexisg »

Visit my blog (nstructions in Spanish languaje)
http://linuxmintchile.wordpress.com/201 ... e-edition/
User avatar
boarder428
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Eastern Nebraska

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by boarder428 »

catweazel wrote: The real problem is that compiz is pretty much dead. If you want wobbly windows, gliding dialog boxes, desktop cubes, and goodness knows what else desktop effects, wait for Mint 15 KDE and use that. It's all built-in, so there's no compatibility issues.
Why is everyone saying compiz is dead?
User avatar
boarder428
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:28 pm
Location: Eastern Nebraska

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by boarder428 »

I've had no problem getting compiz to work but the fusion icon does not seem to work in 15, but since mateconf-editor has been removed i cannot seem to figure out how to dissable Marco!
Honest Mistake
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by Honest Mistake »

alexisg's instructions are correct. Fusion icon doesn't work, but it is not needed. Just install compiz /plugins / ccsm, test if compiz works:

Code: Select all

compiz --replace &
and if yes, set compiz as default window manager with:

Code: Select all

gsettings set org.mate.session.required-components windowmanager compiz
Be warned that this version of compiz has some issues, one of which (unclickable window borders on windows that start maximised) is particularly annoying and without a working work-around that I could find.
User avatar
izzo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: Vulgaria
Contact:

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by izzo »

In, relevant to what I need.
StratosJL
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:03 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by StratosJL »

Honest Mistake wrote:Be warned that this version of compiz has some issues, one of which (unclickable window borders on windows that start maximised) is particularly annoying and without a working work-around that I could find.
I confirm that the bug exists. I have not found a way to prevent it from happening, but when it does, you can move or un-maximize the window by pressing ALT, clicking anywhere on it (not the border) and then dragging it down and place/resize manually. :wink:
leonmaxx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by leonmaxx »

On my Mint 15 Mate I have installed latest experimental Compiz from Sam Spilsbury ppa, it's pretty simple and working:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-add-repository ppa:smspillaz/compiz-experimental
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install compizconfig-settings-manager compiz
gsettings set org.mate.session.required-components windowmanager compiz
And re-login.
ruwan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by ruwan »

I don't know CompizConfig is installed successfully, but the functions are not working still.. It is disaster for me.. If it's not working I want to install Ubuntu 13.04. It works perfect on it.
User avatar
izzo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: Vulgaria
Contact:

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by izzo »

leonmaxx wrote:On my Mint 15 Mate I have installed latest experimental Compiz from Sam Spilsbury ppa, it's pretty simple and working:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-add-repository ppa:smspillaz/compiz-experimental
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install compizconfig-settings-manager compiz
gsettings set org.mate.session.required-components windowmanager compiz
And re-login.
Just did all that too, no dice... I still can't get Cairo Dock with transparency working.
Honest Mistake
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by Honest Mistake »

ruwan wrote:I don't know CompizConfig is installed successfully, but the functions are not working still.. It is disaster for me.. If it's not working I want to install Ubuntu 13.04. It works perfect on it.
Can you give more details on what is wrong? What happens when you try compiz --replace &? What functions are not working? It's possible that everything in the ccsm is turned off by default.
MintRainbow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by MintRainbow »

boarder428 wrote:
catweazel wrote: The real problem is that compiz is pretty much dead...
Why is everyone saying compiz is dead?
Because Canonical bought it, and it is no longer a real work in progress, rather, it's stagnated and it's only real use is as the compositor for Unity.

I've also pretty much quit Compiz because, as much as I loved some of it's functions (Expo was pretty damn nice BTW), I've learned to live without it in MATE. If you want working Compiz so badly, then modify a session to use GNOME iinstead of MATE -- You end up installing GNOME and Unity by default if you grab it from the default repos anyway.

I'll play in a live session and see if I can't submit a working configuration that work from modified session / xsession files. hacky, but hey what I use to do.
MintRainbow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Enable compiz on Mate in Mint 15????

Post by MintRainbow »

First, add nilarimogard's ppa for webupd8 packages (ppa:nilarimogard/webupd8). Optionally, add Dockbar Main Group's PPA (ppa:dockbar-main/ppa). Then, install compiz, compizconfig-settings-manager, emerald and avant-window-navigator, optionally dockbarx and awn-applet-dockbarx.

Then, [url=http://www.mediafire.com/download/7eo0s0fmck71h5m/compiz-awn-session.tar.gz]Click here and download the session files I made[/url], extracting /usr to file system. Log out, select "Compiz with AWN", configure AWN and Compiz to your liking. Use CCSM before you log out and enable what you want. Do not use File Watcher plugiin unless you want to kiss Java goodbye.

Works even with Sam's Compiz PPA, listed above. Mint menu does not work, not the official one from neelance's PPA or from here, for Mate. If someone can offer a fix, [url=http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=106355]do it here[/url].
Post Reply

Return to “MATE”