Page 1 of 1

Will these specs run compiz on my new laptop?

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:45 pm
by morty007
Will compiz work on these specs?
Model Number



I1525-122B
Processor

* Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo Mobile Technology Processor T5750 (2.0GHz/2MB L2 cache/667MHz frontside bus)

Display Screen

* Glossy 15.4" WXGA high-definition widescreen display with TrueLife technology and 1280 x 800 resolution

Memory

* 3GB of DDR2 SDRAM memory

Video Card

* Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator X3100 integrated graphics with up to 256MB as allocated by Windows Vista

Hard Drive

* 250GB 5400rpm Serial ATA Hard Drive

Operating System

* Windows Vista™ Home Premium with Service Pack 1

Network and Modem


* 10/100 Ethernet network port and 56K modem

Wireless Networking


* Integrated Dell 1395 Wireless 802.11b/g mini card


Webcam


* Integrated 2.0M Pixel Webcam

Optical Drive

* DVD Burner(DVD+/-RW) with Double Layer Capability

Battery

* 6-cell lithium-ion battery

I/O Ports & Slots

* 1 FireWire (IEEE 1394) port
* 4 USB2.0 Ports
* 1 ExpressCard/54/34 Slot
* 1 S-video out port
* 8-in-1 digital media reader: supports Secure

Or should I go with something that has a dedicated video card? My only other option is this one

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWA:IT&ih=015

Re: Will these specs run compiz on my new laptop?

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:05 pm
by Tithis
Yes it should run compiz fusion. I only have an Intel 945 GMA and it runs compiz, although certain effects are a bit slow. The rest of that systems specs are loads better them my laptop, so I presume the graphics card is also much better.

Re: Will these specs run compiz on my new laptop?

Posted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:08 am
by alongenemylines
that should definitely run it.

i'm running an old compaq laptop (amd athlon 64 3000+, 512mb ram, geforce440 go) and i only get compiz to lag any when i'm throttling the cpu to 800mhz.

Re: Will these specs run compiz on my new laptop?

Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:06 am
by burnin8r
just fyi, you can run compiz on an Eee pc, so that spec you listed should have NO problem.

Re: Will these specs run compiz on my new laptop?

Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:04 am
by morty007
Oh, didn't know you could run it on an Eee pc. Good to know!

Re: Will these specs run compiz on my new laptop?

Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 7:11 am
by Legendary
Your laptop will have no problems running compiz on wildest and most demanding settings!

I currently have a Asus EEE 900 with Linux Mint Main Edition installed on it, and i have alot of effects etc turned on and i have no problems at all running it smoothly and stabil.

Asus EEE 900 dont even have a REAL graphic card, so you should have no problems at all.

Enjoy (:

Re: Will these specs run compiz on my new laptop?

Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:16 am
by belovedmonster
I'm using a 6 year old PC that is slower than an EEE PC and it runs Compiz just fine. Anything remotely modern can run Compiz. God knows what Microsoft did to Vista so that you need 2GB of RAM and a gaming graphics card just to get the eye candy.