Page 1 of 1

Problem with the "Start Menu" solved

Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 2:38 am
by TekRaj
First off, I would just like to say that so far, this has been one of the most easiest distributions of Linux that I have found to be useful and easy to start transitioning over to from that wretched OS that *cough* Microsoft puts out. Great job everyone, keep up the good work!

Now, on to my problem. I had started to do some package installs for some of my hardware and other software. I am not sure what was the last thing that I installed exactly when the problem actually occurred, but when I finished installing some packages and then when to the (is it really called this) "Start Menu" I noticed that the following code was displayed only where the categories of all the software installed on the system is displayed. The 'Places' and the 'System' categories are displayed okay, but I can't access anything else. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am an avid Windows user and can work around all the problems on a Windows box, but Linux is so simple, yet sophisticated at the same time and perfected better than any code I have seen in Windows so far. Thanks for any help anyone can provide to me to fix this problem. I am using the GNOME desktop and running Linux Mint 5.0 'Elyssa', if you need to know anything else, just let me know.

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu.py", line 229, in PopulatePlugins
    MyPlugin = X.pluginclass( self, self.toggle )

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 205, in __init__
    mymenu = Menu( mainitems )

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 80, in __init__
    self.directory = xdg.Menu.parse( menu )

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 65, in xdgParsePatched
    xdg.Menu.__genmenuNotOnlyAllocated(xdg.Menu.tmp["Root"])

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.5/xdg/Menu.py", line 856, in __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated
    __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated(submenu)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.5/xdg/Menu.py", line 856, in __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated
    __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated(submenu)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.5/xdg/Menu.py", line 856, in __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated
    __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated(submenu)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.5/xdg/Menu.py", line 859, in __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated
    tmp["cache"].addMenuEntries(menu.AppDirs)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.5/xdg/Menu.py", line 1022, in addMenuEntries
    self.__addFiles(dir, "", prefix, legacy)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.5/xdg/Menu.py", line 1036, in __addFiles
    self.__addFiles(dir, os.path.join(subdir,item), prefix, legacy)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.5/xdg/Menu.py", line 1025, in __addFiles
    for item in os.listdir(os.path.join(dir,subdir)):

OSError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/home/i386/.local/share/applications/wine'

Re: Problem with the "Start Menu"

Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:47 am
by Husse
It's actually called mintMenu :)
Right click the button > Reload plugins and you should be ok
Sometimes you have to be a bit more firm :)
Right click the button again > remove from panel
Right click the panel where the menu was > Add to panel and look up mintMenu and add
It will be added back with all the new items intact

Re: Problem with the "Start Menu"

Posted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:51 am
by TekRaj
Thanks for the quick response.

I tried all the steps and, unfortunately, that did not work. I still have the same problem. I even tried rebooting to see if maybe that would help by clearing out all the variables and all for the whole OS. Still nothing. Any other suggestions?

Re: Problem with the "Start Menu"

Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:57 am
by Husse
I did not scroll down to the bottom of the error listed
This is odd
OSError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/home/i386/.local/share/applications/wine'
Is your user name i386? i386 as username is no good idea!!
There should not be a permission problem here
Check the permissions for wine - I don't know what it should be, but a file in home should have your username as owner and group

Re: Problem with the "Start Menu"

Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:19 pm
by TekRaj
Thanks Husse!

That was what the problem was. Not sure exactly how that happened cause today is the first time that I have ever accessed that location on the system at all physically without an installer or script. HA! Now, I have learned something new in case that happens again. Thanks for the quick response. God, I am loving this OS more and more everyday and it has a great community for help, for as I can see so far.

Re: Problem with the "Start Menu" solved

Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:14 pm
by rdonnelly
Hi, I am new here, this is my first post. I am using Fleicia RC1.
I am having a similar problem, I lost all my progams to the left of the menu with :

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Couldn't Load Plugin: Applications

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu.py", line 229, in PopulatePlugins
MyPlugin = X.pluginclass( self, self.toggle )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 207, in __init__
mymenu = Menu( mainitems )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 80, in __init__
self.directory = xdg.Menu.parse( menu )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 49, in xdgParsePatched
raise xdg.Menu.ParsingError(_("Not a valid .menu file"), filename)

ParsingError: ParsingError in file '/home/bob/.config/menus/applications.menu', Not a valid .menu file

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I tried to removing Mint Menu, then adding it again, I tried reolad plugins, I even uninstalled it and reinstalled it from package manager. I have only been using this great OS for a week, and I need help. Another problem I have been having as of recent, new programs were not showing up on the menu when it did work, and I was unable to delete some Wine programs from the menu. My menu seems screwed up. Is there any way to reinstall it? Would a reinstall over the existing install work and leave my system intact?

Re: Problem with the "Start Menu" solved

Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:46 pm
by rdonnelly
Here is what the applications menu says:


<!DOCTYPE Menu PUBLIC "-//freedesktop//DTD Menu 1.0//EN"
"http://www.freedesktop.org/standards/me ... nu-1.0.dtd">

<Menu>
<Name>Applications</Name>
<MergeFile type="parent">/etc/xdg/menus/applications.menu</MergeFile>
<Menu>
<Name>Accessories</Name>
<Exclude>
<Filename>file-roller.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>kde4-kalarm.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>kde4-Kjots.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>kde4-knotes.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>kde4-karm.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>kde4-ktnef.desktop</Filename>
</Exclude>
</Menu>
<Menu>
<Name>Office</Name>
<Include>
<Filename>MYOB Plus V12.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>Refrigerant Journal Software 2004-1.desktop</Filename>
</Include>
<Exclude>
<Filename>ooo-template.desktop</Filename>
</Exclude>
</Menu>
<Menu>
<Name>Other</Name>
<Exclude>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus Accessories-Lotus Organizer EasyClip.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus Accessories-Lotus SuiteStart.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus Accessories-Lotus vCard & vCalendar Viewer.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>MYOB Plus V12.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>Refrigerant Journal Software 2004-1.desktop</Filename>
</Exclude>
</Menu>
<Menu>
<Name>wine-wine</Name>
<Menu>
<Name>wine-Programs</Name>
<Menu>
<Name>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite</Name>
<Exclude>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus 1-2-3.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus Approach.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus FastSite.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus Freelance Graphics.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus Organizer.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus SmartCenter.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus Software Agreement.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus Word Pro.desktop</Filename>
</Exclude>
<Menu>
<Name>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus DocOnline</Name>
<Exclude>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus DocOnline-Exploring SmartSuite.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus DocOnline-LotusScript Language Reference.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus DocOnline-LotusScript Programmer's Guide.desktop</Filename>
</Exclude>
</Menu>
<Menu>
<Name>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus User Assistance</Name>
<Exclude>
<Filename>wine-Programs-Lotus SmartSuite-Lotus User Assistance-SmartSuite.desktop</Filename>
</Exclude>
</Menu>
</Menu>
<Menu>
<Name>wine-Programs-MYOB Plus V12</Name>
<Exclude>
<Filename>wine-Programs-MYOB Plus V12-Late Breaking Changes.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-MYOB Plus V12-MYOB Plus Optimization Assistant.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-MYOB Plus V12-MYOB Plus Upgrade Assistant.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>wine-Programs-MYOB Plus V12-MYOB Plus v12 Forms Upgrade Assistant.desktop</Filename>
</Exclude>
</Menu>
</Menu>
</Menu>
</Menu>

Re: Problem with the "Start Menu" solved

Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:12 pm
by rdonnelly
Ok, I threw applications.menu in the trash and the menu was fine after that?