Mate bottom panel does not always load at startup

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
StewB
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:25 pm

Mate bottom panel does not always load at startup

Post by StewB » Sat Oct 03, 2015 12:14 pm

I saw this problem on a friend's laptop using Mint Mate 17,,2 and now its happening to me too. One install is 64 bit the other is 32 bit. After startup loads the desktop and bottom panel, when I try to click Menu nothing happens. The yellow tooltip is not active either. Other items in the bottom panel will not work and show no tooltips. The computer is kind of froze but CTRL/ALT/Backspace allows me to log in again and it always seems to work this second time. I should also mention that my machine is set to auto login.

This does not always happen and sometimes always happens. It's not a show stopper but I'd like a idea of how to solve this.

Thanks, Stew Bottorf

User avatar
all41
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4718
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Mate bottom panel does not always load at startup

Post by all41 » Sat Oct 03, 2015 12:28 pm

Hi,
try:

Code: Select all

mate-panel --reset
Note that this will restore the panel to original defaults, and any customizations and applets will be reset.
Proud to be a supporter and monthly contributor to Mint.

StewB
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:25 pm

Re: Mate bottom panel non-responsive at startup

Post by StewB » Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:34 am

After documenting my setup on the bottom panel, I tried the command: mate-panel --reset

The first reboot was fine. The second I'm back to the unresponsive issue.

So this is not a fix. Restart xserver with CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE fixes issue. Any other ideas?

User avatar
all41
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4718
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Mate bottom panel does not always load at startup

Post by all41 » Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:59 am

This is a curious issue--I have installed Mate on many different computers without such an issue
and you have encountered it twice.
Since you are able to bring up a terminal:

Code: Select all

killall caja
Does that activate the panel navigation?
Proud to be a supporter and monthly contributor to Mint.

wpshooter
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 544
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 8:06 am

Re: Mate bottom panel does not always load at startup

Post by wpshooter » Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:34 pm

I too have this same problem with the panel not loading to occur on random occasions.

Any thoughts ?

I am wondering if this is a Linux Mint problem or a hardware problem because to the best of my recall even though this
happens occasionally on my desktop computer (Dell Optiplex model 980), I don't remember it ever happening on my laptop (ASUS) computer
(note: that the ASUS laptop is all original except for now having Linux Mint on it instead of that crappy MS$ OS.

I have tested memory (on the desktop computer) and that does not seem to be the problem, so I am wondering if it might be related
to either the hard drive (which is a SATA2 Samsung SSD) or to the processor itself which is an Intel I5.

Am running Linux Mint 18.3 mate.

Thanks.

User avatar
Schultz
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1304
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: Mate bottom panel does not always load at startup

Post by Schultz » Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:00 pm

wpshooter wrote:
I am wondering if this is a Linux Mint problem . . . .
I don't think so; I've been using LM Mate for quite a while and have never had this problem.

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2141
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Mate bottom panel does not always load at startup

Post by trytip » Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:59 pm

using mate 17.3 and every once in a while panel disappears but reappears on it's own. if it doesn't i use CTRL+ALT+BACK SPACE and it will log me out, then i login

try changing window managers to marco+compton
Image

User avatar
all41
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4718
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Mate bottom panel does not always load at startup

Post by all41 » Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:10 pm

Another thought is that apps or scripts added to Startup may try loading at the same time caja and the panel are being loaded.
I encountered this, and for that reason I made a special script with a delay to allow Mint to finish loading before execution of xinput modifications, conky, and a couple other items I needed to run.
Proud to be a supporter and monthly contributor to Mint.

wpshooter
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 544
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 8:06 am

Re: Mate bottom panel does not always load at startup

Post by wpshooter » Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:03 am

all41 wrote:Another thought is that apps or scripts added to Startup may try loading at the same time caja and the panel are being loaded.
I encountered this, and for that reason I made a special script with a delay to allow Mint to finish loading before execution of xinput modifications, conky, and a couple other items I needed to run.
Why would the OS try to load these at the same time, is it not smart enough to load these in an order that would not interfere with one another ?

Your fix may work great for you but what about everyone else who do not know how to make a script to cure this ??? Isn't this something
that should be fixed on a OS level so that the problem can not occur to start with ?

Thanks.

User avatar
Superannuated
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:18 am
Location: UTC -8 :: Pacific Coast USA

Re: Mate bottom panel does not always load at startup

Post by Superannuated » Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:34 am

I had this happen twice recently. I am running LM17.3 Mate on a Dell OptiPlex 7010 desktop. It happened on startup after running LM18.3 Mate as a live USB. A restart got rid of the problem. Both my panels did not show up, bottom and left.

User avatar
polol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:08 pm

Re: Mate bottom panel does not always load at startup

Post by polol » Sat Dec 23, 2017 6:06 am

Hi,

I had the same problem. I made a startup application with the following content:

bash -c "sleep 10;mate-panel --replace"

Found it on internet and it works for me.

Post Reply

Return to “MATE”