Mate panel icons not showing

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
QueenZ
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:53 pm

Mate panel icons not showing

Post by QueenZ »

Hello. I just got a new computer, installed a fresh copy of Mate Desktop but the icons in the panel are not showing like they should. Here's how they looked on my old computer and on the new... (see screenshot) What could be the problem?

Image

AlmightyDoerOfStuff
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:38 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Mate panel icons not showing

Post by AlmightyDoerOfStuff »

My icons become invisible too, when I move them between panels. I reinstalled Mint and it's still happening.
!!!@#@#@#@#@!!! CAUTION: THIS PERSON DOES NOT KNOW WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT. DISREGARD ANY APPEALS TO AUTHORITY, EXPERIENCE, OR ROMANTIC PROWESS. ANY CORRECT INFORMATION YOU RECEIVE FROM THIS MAN IS PURELY COINCIDENTAL. !!!@#@#@#@#@!!!

The Almighty Website of Stuff

all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6197
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Mate panel icons not showing

Post by all41 »

@QueenZ and @AlmightyDoerOfStuff
are we talking about Serena 18.1 Mate desktop here?
libera ab tyrannis

AlmightyDoerOfStuff
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:38 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Mate panel icons not showing

Post by AlmightyDoerOfStuff »

Oh, yes. Sorry about that. 64-bit.

EDIT:

Code: Select all

 ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: ADoS-ProBook-Mint Kernel: 4.4.0-53-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: MATE 1.16.1 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.1 Serena
Machine:   System: HP (portable) product: HP ProBook 455 G3
           Mobo: HP model: 80F0 v: KBC Version 92.62
           Bios: HP v: N80 Ver. 01.14 date: 11/01/2016
CPU:       Quad core AMD A8-7410 APU with AMD Radeon R5 Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 17566
           clock speeds: max: 2200 MHz 1: 1300 MHz 2: 1000 MHz 3: 1300 MHz
           4: 1000 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Mullins [Radeon R4/R5 Graphics]
           bus-ID: 00:01.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD MULLINS (DRM 2.43.0, LLVM 3.8.0)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:01.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-53-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 2000 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           IF: enp1s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Broadcom BCM43142 802.11b/g/n
           driver: bcma-pci-bridge bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 516.1GB (19.0% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ACF0 size: 500.1GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: Cruzer_Glide size: 16.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 366G used: 88G (26%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda8
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda7
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 47.6C mobo: 0.0C gpu: 42.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 195 Uptime: 15 min Memory: 1061.2/3394.4MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.461) inxi: 2.2
!!!@#@#@#@#@!!! CAUTION: THIS PERSON DOES NOT KNOW WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT. DISREGARD ANY APPEALS TO AUTHORITY, EXPERIENCE, OR ROMANTIC PROWESS. ANY CORRECT INFORMATION YOU RECEIVE FROM THIS MAN IS PURELY COINCIDENTAL. !!!@#@#@#@#@!!!

The Almighty Website of Stuff

all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6197
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Mate panel icons not showing

Post by all41 »

Have you applied any themes?
libera ab tyrannis

AlmightyDoerOfStuff
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:38 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Mate panel icons not showing

Post by AlmightyDoerOfStuff »

I applied a theme afterward, but it was doing it on a fresh install too.
!!!@#@#@#@#@!!! CAUTION: THIS PERSON DOES NOT KNOW WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT. DISREGARD ANY APPEALS TO AUTHORITY, EXPERIENCE, OR ROMANTIC PROWESS. ANY CORRECT INFORMATION YOU RECEIVE FROM THIS MAN IS PURELY COINCIDENTAL. !!!@#@#@#@#@!!!

The Almighty Website of Stuff

User avatar
TooMuchTime
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:30 pm

Re: Mate panel icons not showing

Post by TooMuchTime »

Create a new user. Do a full power down, then power it up again. Logon as the new user. Do you still have the problem?

AlmightyDoerOfStuff
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:38 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Mate panel icons not showing

Post by AlmightyDoerOfStuff »

The new user's panels functioned properly briefly, being able to add applets to both panels and move one applet from one to the other. After that, panel apps resumed disappearing during switches and not being placeable on the second panel to begin with.

I then went back to my main account, uninstalled Mate-panel, rebooted, reinstalled it, rebooted again, and tried it again. The same thing happened, working a couple times and then malfunctioning.
!!!@#@#@#@#@!!! CAUTION: THIS PERSON DOES NOT KNOW WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT. DISREGARD ANY APPEALS TO AUTHORITY, EXPERIENCE, OR ROMANTIC PROWESS. ANY CORRECT INFORMATION YOU RECEIVE FROM THIS MAN IS PURELY COINCIDENTAL. !!!@#@#@#@#@!!!

The Almighty Website of Stuff

AlmightyDoerOfStuff
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:38 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Mate panel icons not showing

Post by AlmightyDoerOfStuff »

I wrestled with the panel for a couple hours, and finally got it the way I like. I have to be very careful to place things exactly where I want them, because I can only move some applets by clicking and dragging. If I try Rightclick-Move on the lower panel, it will try to move the applet to the upper panel as it is behind the Move option in the context menu, and then disappear. What I did was right-click on the extreme edge of where I wanted the applets, and add them one by one without closing the window. It places them in reverse order. Then I log out and in again, and they've reversed themselves to the order I selected them in, which is left to right instead of right to left.

I don't really want to touch this thing again... :(
!!!@#@#@#@#@!!! CAUTION: THIS PERSON DOES NOT KNOW WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT. DISREGARD ANY APPEALS TO AUTHORITY, EXPERIENCE, OR ROMANTIC PROWESS. ANY CORRECT INFORMATION YOU RECEIVE FROM THIS MAN IS PURELY COINCIDENTAL. !!!@#@#@#@#@!!!

The Almighty Website of Stuff

Post Reply

Return to “MATE”