[SOLVED] Memory hog?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

[SOLVED] Memory hog?

Post by JerryF » Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:40 pm

I recently switched from 18.2 Cinnamon to 18.2 MATE, one being that I might see and improvement with response in opening apps.

I just checked System Monitor, Resources and to my surprise, I'm using 1.3 GB of RAM as I write this. This seems like a lot.

Here's a couple of screenshots of System Monitor, if this helps.
Selection_001.jpg
Selection_002.jpg
Last edited by JerryF on Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2969
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: Memory hog?

Post by MintBean » Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:46 pm


User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Memory hog?

Post by JerryF » Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:54 pm

Thanks mintbean...I understand now. :D
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2969
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: Memory hog?

Post by MintBean » Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:57 pm

Sorry I was too lazy to type much.... :wink:

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6195
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Memory hog?

Post by Flemur » Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:55 pm

As a curiosity if nothing else, you can release that memory like this:
# cat clear_mem.sh

Code: Select all

# This needs to be run as REAL root: "sudo -l"  or "sudo -s"
#!/bin/sh
sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Memory hog?

Post by JerryF » Fri Oct 06, 2017 4:04 pm

Flemur wrote:As a curiosity if nothing else, you can release that memory like this:
# cat clear_mem.sh

Code: Select all

# This needs to be run as REAL root: "sudo -l"  or "sudo -s"
#!/bin/sh
sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
Hi Flemur:

I got this:

Code: Select all

jerry # cat clear_mem.sh
cat: clear_mem.sh: No such file or directory
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10973
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Memory hog?

Post by Pjotr » Fri Oct 06, 2017 5:10 pm

A strange thing about linuxatemyram.com: it states that "available" = "free" + "buff/cache". But it's not. Not on my machine, and not even in the example the author gives....
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19 Tara
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

ColdBootII
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:19 am

Re: Memory hog?

Post by ColdBootII » Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:09 pm

JerryF wrote:
Flemur wrote:As a curiosity if nothing else, you can release that memory like this:
# cat clear_mem.sh

Code: Select all

# This needs to be run as REAL root: "sudo -l"  or "sudo -s"
#!/bin/sh
sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
Hi Flemur:

I got this:

Code: Select all

jerry # cat clear_mem.sh
cat: clear_mem.sh: No such file or directory
Try this way:

Code: Select all

sudo sh -c "sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches"
Pjotr wrote:A strange thing about linuxatemyram.com: it states that "available" = "free" + "buff/cache". But it's not. Not on my machine, and not even in the example the author gives....
You are right, available memory amounts to free + some amount of buffers and cache that kernel can evict if need be. Sometimes it may be all buff/cache, sometimes it's not. Some people even keep locked certain files(e.g. database tables) in cache when quick access to these is a priority.

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2969
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: Memory hog?

Post by MintBean » Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:37 pm

ColdBootII wrote:You are right, available memory amounts to free + some amount of buffers and cache that kernel can evict if need be. Sometimes it may be all buff/cache, sometimes it's not. Some people even keep locked certain files(e.g. database tables) in cache when quick access to these is a priority.
Thanks for the insight. How (broadly speaking) do you go about keeping files locked in cache?

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6195
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Memory hog?

Post by Flemur » Fri Oct 06, 2017 7:27 pm

JerryF wrote:I got this:

Code: Select all

jerry # cat clear_mem.sh
cat: clear_mem.sh: No such file or directory
You have to make your own .sh file from that code or just enter the string after "sudo -i".
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

ColdBootII
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:19 am

Re: Memory hog?

Post by ColdBootII » Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:10 pm

MintBean wrote:Thanks for the insight. How (broadly speaking) do you go about keeping files locked in cache?
Sorry MintBean, as it doesn't pertain to my use case, I haven't bothered delving into any details. Mostly SysAdmin's stuff as they are forever bent over system performance.

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2405
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Memory hog?

Post by trytip » Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:47 pm

i see in the process snap shot that teamviewer,dropbox,mintupdate,bluttoothg are loaded . if you don't use these turn them off in startup session of control centre
Image

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2969
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: Memory hog?

Post by MintBean » Sat Oct 07, 2017 12:00 am

No worries ColdBoot, just an idle question.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Memory hog?

Post by JerryF » Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:58 am

trytip wrote:i see in the process snap shot that teamviewer,dropbox,mintupdate,bluttoothg are loaded . if you don't use these turn them off in startup session of control centre
Yes, I do use them. Thanks for the suggestion. :)
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Memory hog?

Post by JerryF » Sat Oct 07, 2017 10:39 am

Flemur wrote:You have to make your own .sh file from that code or just enter the string after "sudo -i".
Hi Flemur:

I tried both ways. Directly with sudo -i sh -c "sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches" and I created a file with the code you gave me and ran it as root in terminal.

Code: Select all

cat clear_mem.sh
# This needs to be run as REAL root: "sudo -l"  or "sudo -s"
#!/bin/sh
sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
There was no output from the commands. Is there supposed to be? After running the command and script, I checked Resources in System Monitor and free -m and both stayed the same.

As a note, when I first boot, my memory in Resources show as 890 MB. Then when I start Chrome, it goes to 1.2 GB. I'm beginning to think this is normal for my setup with the startup apps I have---Dropbox, Teamviewer, etc.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2405
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Memory hog?

Post by trytip » Sat Oct 07, 2017 1:16 pm

yes this is normal for your setup. you can boot test without most of the startup apps to compare. i personally don't like all these things running in background that was windows downfall too, every application you installed also went into startup as some kind of service ultimately building a slow boot time and memory hog.

see if this code does better, but clearing ram and cache in linux is not as useful as in windows

Code: Select all

su -c "echo 3 >'/proc/sys/vm/drop_caches' && swapoff -a && swapon -a && printf '\n%s\n' 'Ram-cache and Swap Cleared'"
Image

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3139
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Memory hog?

Post by JerryF » Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:31 pm

trytip,

Thanks. Yes, I realize about the startup apps, but those are the very few that I run.

Your commands did reduce the the Memory from 1.2 GB to 1.1 GB, but went back. Not a big deal. As long as I know that my memory usage isn't out of the ordinary with my setup

Thanks to all!
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

Post Reply

Return to “MATE”