[SOLVED] Seeing double in Taskbar

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
TechnoTron
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:49 am
Location: Bergen, Norway
Contact:

[SOLVED] Seeing double in Taskbar

Post by TechnoTron » Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:20 am

I recently reinstalled Linux Mint Mate 64bit 18.3 after my 10 year old HDD died on me. I replaced it with an SSD. But I couldn't clone the old one, 'cause it was too far gone to read consistently (kept freezing).

If you're not in the mood to read, here is a video describing the problem: http://tiny.cc/3n7lwy

Anyway...Every time I minimized a program, it didn't show up on the task bar. But It did when I removed the checkbox for "Expand", but that just made it look weird (to me). So I added Window List to panel, thinking that it wasn't included in the distro for some reason. Then I happened to try to move some icons on the bar. Then I discovered the tasks were hiding behind the Chromium Icon the whole time. Now I have two instances of all tasks on the bar. I tried looking online for ways to fix this, but I can't find a solution to fit the problem.

(For those wondering why I don't just install Mint 19 instead; I tried that. It wont find the wifi, amongst other problems.)
Last edited by TechnoTron on Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
all41
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4637
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Seeing double in Taskbar

Post by all41 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:44 am

Sounds like youo now have two Windows List applets running in your panel.
There is a very faint seperator bar just outside and to the left of an open windows list box.
This is very difficult to see with darker taskbar colors.
You will need to right-click on that seperator and choose 'Remove From Panel'.
windows list.jpg
windows list.jpg (16.16 KiB) Viewed 145 times
You may have to deselect 'Lock to Panel' beforehand
Proud to be a supporter and monthly contributor to Mint.

TechnoTron
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:49 am
Location: Bergen, Norway
Contact:

Re: Seeing double in Taskbar

Post by TechnoTron » Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:33 am

Took me awhile, but then I saw the last line about unlocking it first. Now it works like a charm. Thank you! :o :o

Post Reply

Return to “MATE”