Page 1 of 1

incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 8:11 pm
by wpshooter
Do a new installation on Linux Mint 19.3 mate 64bit on a friends computer
and I have a screenshot of an example of how desktop icons are occasionally
mis-named when placing the there from the menu with the add to desktop
function. Notice the icon naming for the terminal how it is different from the
naming of all of the other icons. When/after I reboot the icon naming for
the terminal will be back to its correct state. But my question is what causes
this occasional mis-naming in the first place.

Unfortunately, the add attachment function says the printscreen attachment
is too large. It is 692kb. Is there any other way to send/attach this file ?

Thanks.

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 8:15 pm
by Schultz
Upload it to imgur.com and then link to it. Or, shrink the image down a bit.

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 9:09 pm
by wpshooter
I still can not get it to size that it will attach.

Let me just give a description of the icon. It has a white box with the symbol of a cog/sprocket in the middle of it and below the box are the words -
mate-
terminal.
desktop

After I rebooted it is formatted correctly, just like all of the other icons on the desktop.
Which for instance, Rhythmbox, has a symbol of a musical note inside a rounded corner white square with the word Rhythmbox just under that square.

Thanks.

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 1:16 am
by smurphos
Another caja bug. It's failing to refresh the desktop after adding the launcher.

Pressing F5 to force a refresh of the desktop after adding to desktop is the workaround.

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 7:26 am
by wpshooter
smurphos wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 1:16 am
Another caja bug. It's failing to refresh the desktop after adding the launcher.

Pressing F5 to force a refresh of the desktop after adding to desktop is the workaround.
Is anyone that knows how to fix it aware of this bug. It has been there for a L O N G time.

Thanks.

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 1:26 pm
by smurphos
I think these are probably the same general bug - the failure to properly refresh affects regular caja windows aswell

https://github.com/mate-desktop/caja/issues/1301
https://github.com/mate-desktop/caja/issues/941

Re: incorrectly named desktop icon when placing menu item onto desktop

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 6:55 pm
by Schultz
smurphos wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 1:26 pm
I think these are probably the same general bug - the failure to properly refresh affects regular caja windows aswell
I can vouch for that. I'm guessing it'll never get fixed.