Page 1 of 1

Black fonts in dropdowns on qt4 applications.

Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 3:58 pm
by cdysthe
Hi,

On qt4 based applications (like Opera qt4 builds and Skype 2.1) in Mint 8 64 bit the font on the dark gray dropdown menus are black. On Gnome applications they are white. In Mint 7 they were the same, namely white on both. The black fonts makes it really hard to see the dropdown options, so I wonderer how I could make qt4 and Gnome based applications similar in this regard. In all other ways they pretty much are.

Re: Black fonts in dropdowns on qt4 applications.

Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:06 pm
by zombie
Can't help you with Skype, but Opera can be started with the -systemstyle switch. Type "opera -systemstyle" in a terminal or change your shortcuts to include -systemstyle in the command.

Re: Black fonts in dropdowns on qt4 applications.

Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:13 pm
by cdysthe
zombie wrote:Can't help you with Skype, but Opera can be started with the -systemstyle switch. Type "opera -systemstyle" in a terminal or change your shortcuts to include -systemstyle in the command.
Thanks! That fixed Opera. Tried the switch on Skype hoping it wold work. It didn't :) I wonder why this has changed from Mint 7 to 8?

Re: Black fonts in dropdowns on qt4 applications.

Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:22 pm
by zombie
It's the same problem with Mint 7 for me. The bug is in Gnome's (Ubuntu's?) handling of qt applications.

Re: Black fonts in dropdowns on qt4 applications.

Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:31 pm
by cdysthe
zombie wrote:It's the same problem with Mint 7 for me. The bug is in Gnome's (Ubuntu's?) handling of qt applications.
I have another laptop I haven't updated yet. I must have done something back then but I am not able to remember what. I will dig a little deeper :)

Re: Black fonts in dropdowns on qt4 applications.

Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:33 pm
by zombie
Maybe you used the qt3 version of Opera under Mint 7?

Re: Black fonts in dropdowns on qt4 applications.

Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 4:42 pm
by cdysthe
zombie wrote:Maybe you used the qt3 version of Opera under Mint 7?
No, it's qt4 builds there also. I just checked. Thanks anyway :)