Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
sdim
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:19 pm

Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by sdim »

Hi, everyone.
The question is simple: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?
I would like to use this version (the original one) instead of the one in Synaptic, since this one entails all the features presented, and which I find interesting.
If not, most probably we will have to wait for Mint 11.

Many thanks.
MB:MSI 770 C-45 / HD1:500 GB-->Windows / HD2:320 GB-->Mint 18 Cinnamon
CPU:AMD X4 640 3.00 GHz / RAM:4.0 GB / VGA: NVidia GeForce GT630

User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2642
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by nunol »

I think there is a thread about that: http://forum.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.ph ... 6&p=402575

User avatar
sdim
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:19 pm

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by sdim »

Many thanks, nunol, but this seems to be the Gnome Shell edition.
I think the Gnome 3 release is a bit (or a probably a lot) different from that.
MB:MSI 770 C-45 / HD1:500 GB-->Windows / HD2:320 GB-->Mint 18 Cinnamon
CPU:AMD X4 640 3.00 GHz / RAM:4.0 GB / VGA: NVidia GeForce GT630

User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2642
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by nunol »

Then, I think we have to wait for Mint 11 RC.

User avatar
Kilz
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:00 pm

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by Kilz »

sdim wrote:Many thanks, nunol, but this seems to be the Gnome Shell edition.
I think the Gnome 3 release is a bit (or a probably a lot) different from that.
Not really. Gnome 3 is Gnome with Gnome shell. You could install the newest Gnome shell into an existing install and have Gnome 3 for the most part.
I trust Microsoft about as far as I could comfortably spit a dead rat
Ubuntu is my past, it is no longer the place it once was, on its forums you are no longer free to voice your opinion.
64bit Linux Powered

User avatar
sdim
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:19 pm

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by sdim »

Many thanks for the reply.
MB:MSI 770 C-45 / HD1:500 GB-->Windows / HD2:320 GB-->Mint 18 Cinnamon
CPU:AMD X4 640 3.00 GHz / RAM:4.0 GB / VGA: NVidia GeForce GT630

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6719
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by AlbertP »

@ Kilz: gnome 2 also has a shell in the repository, but it is a bit buggy. And Gnome 3 without shell is also possible.

Gnome 3 is just a new version of Gnome which has shell enabled by default.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3961
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by proxima_centauri »

AlbertP wrote:And Gnome 3 without shell is also possible.
Gnome 3 is just a new version of Gnome which has shell enabled by default.
Adding to that, GNOME 3 fallback mode (no gnome-shell) will not be exactly the same as what we're used to in GNOME 2.x - though fairly similar.
For instance, there will be some differences like no panel applets or context menus.

User avatar
Kilz
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:00 pm

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by Kilz »

AlbertP wrote:@ Kilz: gnome 2 also has a shell in the repository, but it is a bit buggy. And Gnome 3 without shell is also possible.

Gnome 3 is just a new version of Gnome which has shell enabled by default.
LOL a "bit" buggy? Thats like saying the Titanic was just a ship. I foresee Gnome 3 to be full of bugs for at least the first few months. The user base on development versions is never enough to spot them all. Yes Gnome 3 is just enabling the gnome shell.
But to be honest I tried Gnome Shell and wasnt impressed. I have been a Gnome user for all my time using linux (6 years) and gnome shell seriously has me thinking of moving to xfce. But when it is enabled in lmde I will give it a month to see if its truly as bad as I think it is.
I trust Microsoft about as far as I could comfortably spit a dead rat
Ubuntu is my past, it is no longer the place it once was, on its forums you are no longer free to voice your opinion.
64bit Linux Powered

User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2642
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by nunol »

Kilz wrote:gnome shell seriously has me thinking of moving to xfce.
Actually, I'm waiting for a proper Gnome 3 implementation in order to decide if I stay or move away.

The question is move away to what?

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5065
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Mt. Angel, Oregon

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by tdockery97 »

I like Mint 10 KDE as a Gnome replacement. As a matter of fact, the one and only thing I like about Gnome 3 is the "hot spot" in the upper left corner that brings up a view of all open windows. Well, guess what? Mint 10 KDE does the same thing, without the irritatingly incomplete feel of the overall Gnome 3 experience.
Mint Cinnamon 19.3

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6719
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by AlbertP »

I don't quite know the size of that 'bit', I haven't tried it myself.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

pony-tail
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:26 am

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by pony-tail »

I would like to play around a bit with gnome 3 on a Debian based system .
I have been using it for a while on Fedora - I have had no crashes or glitches of any kind but I have had a lot of issues using Fedora's package management system . I have been using Debian and it's derivatives for 10+ years and I use Gentoo on one machine . I would like to give Gnome 3 with Gnome shell a decent run on a Debian based system .
I can comfortably use Gnome shell but definitely prefer the Gnome panels shell ( the 2.xx shell )

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6719
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Can Gnome 3 be installed in Mint 10?

Post by AlbertP »

Packagekit (Add&Remove Software) is indeed not a very good program. Synaptic has long been removed from the Fedora repos, but apt-get is still there (though apt-get update is working some slow with RPM).
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

Post Reply

Return to “MATE”