Compositing...

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Lex8P
Level 1
Level 1

Compositing...

Post by Lex8P » Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:38 am

Hi I'm pretty new to Linux and working my around it, so bear with me.

I installed a few docking systems like Docky and Cairodock which both say that I need to enable compositing to get these to work correctly (otherwise big black boxes around them). The problem I have is that if I enable this then all my windows go dark and looks like a darker gradient the more windows are on top of eachother.
If I dont have any windows open, still dark and just seem right.

Am I doing something wrong? Do I need better graphics card drivers?

Am running on a Toshiba Equium A100 Laptop with standard intel graphics with the only drivers I could find for Mint 10.

Thanks

feed3
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Compositing...

Post by feed3 » Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:58 am

Lex8P wrote:Hi I'm pretty new to Linux and working my around it, so bear with me.

I installed a few docking systems like Docky and Cairodock which both say that I need to enable compositing to get these to work correctly (otherwise big black boxes around them). The problem I have is that if I enable this then all my windows go dark and looks like a darker gradient the more windows are on top of eachother.
If I dont have any windows open, still dark and just seem right.

Am I doing something wrong? Do I need better graphics card drivers?

Am running on a Toshiba Equium A100 Laptop with standard intel graphics with the only drivers I could find for Mint 10.

Thanks
Usually people use compiz to get that compositing capabilities. How do you actually enable this compositing? Thru desktop setting or using compiz?

Habitual
Level 13
Level 13

Post by Habitual » Tue Apr 19, 2011 7:59 am