Daryna with dual monitor and separate x-screen?

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
faktor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:54 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden

Daryna with dual monitor and separate x-screen?

Post by faktor » Mon Dec 10, 2007 8:44 pm

Hi all,

I just installed Mint/Daryna (gnome).
When i use dual monitor the desktop is different on each screen.
Desktop1 is my main monitor, and it looks like Mint....
Desktop2 is different as you can see.

When i activate the goodies (Compiz, etc), then i can't move the windows on desktop 2 (the second monitor).

Is this a bug or is it possible to fix this problem?
Attachments
Desktop2.png
Desktop2.png (230.81 KiB) Viewed 1515 times
Desktop1.png
Desktop1.png (193.03 KiB) Viewed 1514 times

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Daryna with dual monitor and separate x-screen?

Post by Husse » Tue Dec 11, 2007 6:52 am

Post your/etc/X11/ xorg.conf
Tell us which video card you have, might not be found in xorg.conf
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

faktor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:54 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden

Re: Daryna with dual monitor and separate x-screen?

Post by faktor » Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:39 am

All info in xorg.conf (even videocard)

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Thu Oct 4 10:34:46 PDT 2007

# xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
# sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "ServerLayout"

# Uncomment if you have a wacom tablet
# InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
# InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
# InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
Load "v4l"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"

# Removed Option "Xinerama" "1"
# Removed Option "Xinerama" "true"
# Removed Option "Xinerama" "true"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "se"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "stylus"
Driver "wacom"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "stylus"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4"# Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "eraser"
Driver "wacom"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "eraser"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4"# Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "cursor"
Driver "wacom"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "cursor"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4"# Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
HorizSync 30.0 - 70.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "DELL 1900FP"
HorizSync 30.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Gamma 1
ModeLine "640x480@60" 25.0 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "640x480@72" 31.0 640 664 704 832 480 489 491 520 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "640x480@75" 31.0 640 656 720 840 480 481 484 500 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "800x600@56" 36.0 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "800x600@72" 50.0 800 856 976 1040 600 637 643 666 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "800x600@75" 49.0 800 816 896 1056 600 601 604 625 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "800x600@60" 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "832x624@75" 57.0 832 864 928 1152 624 625 628 667 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "1024x768@75" 78.0 1024 1040 1136 1312 768 769 772 800 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1024x768@70" 75.0 1024 1048 1184 1328 768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "1024x768@60" 65.0 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "1152x864@75" 108.0 1152 1216 1344 1600 864 865 868 900 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1280x1024@75" 135.0 1280 1296 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1280x960@60" 102.0 1280 1360 1496 1712 960 961 964 994 -hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1280x1024@60" 108.0 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1280x960@75" 129.0 1280 1368 1504 1728 960 961 964 1002 -hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1400x1050@60" 122.0 1400 1488 1640 1880 1050 1051 1054 1087 -hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1600x1200@60" 162.0 1600 1664 1856 2160 1200 1201 1204 1250 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "ViewSonic VG1930wm"
HorizSync 30.0 - 82.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 75.0
Gamma 1
ModeLine "640x480@60" 25.0 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "800x600@56" 36.0 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "800x600@60" 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1024x768@60" 65.0 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync
ModeLine "1280x960@60" 102.0 1280 1360 1496 1712 960 961 964 994 -hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1280x1024@60" 108.0 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1400x1050@60" 122.0 1400 1488 1640 1880 1050 1051 1054 1087 -hsync +vsync
ModeLine "1600x1200@60" 162.0 1600 1664 1856 2160 1200 1201 1204 1250 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7300 GT]"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "AddARGBVisuals" "True"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7300 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 7300 GT"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7300 GT]"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP: 1440x900 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP: 1440x900 +0+0; DFP: 1280x800 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; DFP: 1440x900 +0+0; DFP: 1280x800 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP: 1280x800 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; CRT: 1280x1024_75 +0+0; CRT: 320x240 +0+0"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; CRT: 320x240 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 320x240d73 +0+0; CRT: 320x240 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024_75 +0+0; CRT: 320x240 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; CRT: 1280x1024_75 +0+0; CRT: 320x240 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024_75 +0+0; CRT: 320x240 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP: 1440x900_75 +0+0; DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; DFP: 1440x900 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Daryna with dual monitor and separate x-screen?

Post by Husse » Wed Dec 12, 2007 8:05 am

I think your refresh rates seems a bit wrong
Run xvidtune in a terminal, click cancel in the dialog that pops up and you have the horizontal and vertical rates in the terminal
Use these in your xorg.conf and the problem may be solved
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

faktor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:54 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden

Re: Daryna with dual monitor and separate x-screen?

Post by faktor » Wed Dec 12, 2007 8:26 am

Thank's for your help.
But the problem is not the resolution (even if i tried your sugestion).
The problem is that desktop2 is a ubuntu-desktop or ordinary gnome desktop. It has not this fansy mint-menu, different look and it's not working with compiz if i turn it on.
Look at my atched pictures, they are different. It looks like when you use separate x-screen the settings will not follow to the second one. Like mint menu, etc.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Daryna with dual monitor and separate x-screen?

Post by Husse » Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:32 am

Take a look at this
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=583214
Perhaps the first (only?) xorg.conf can be used with appropriate adjustments

Hej på dej
Välkommen till det svenska forumet om du har språkproblem - annars stanna kvar här
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Post Reply

Return to “MATE”