Page 2 of 20

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 5:50 pm
by GeneC
kmb

Thanks for the info.
Caja seemed to have take over my Shell as well.
I reverted back to a std gnome shell install. Will wait till Clem ports it with his tweaks to LMDE. Still to early.

Be Well.

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 6:19 pm
by shawnhcorey
`alacarte` is buggy in Xubuntu, so I don't expect much improvement in MATE. :(

Some small bugs/wishes

Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:41 pm
by AlexSL
Hello.
I installed Mint12 with Mate Desktop.
This is my first bugs/wishes for Mate:
1. In Caja file manager, in context menu, I do not see "Open in terminal" menu command (for open current folder in terminal).
2. When I open man-pages in mate-terminal, I can't scroll by mouse wheel, but in gnome-terminal it works.
3. Do not work stickynotes applet for panel (it work in gnome2).
4. Do not work media keys on my keyboard, for example volume-up and volume-down keys. In gnome2 this keys work fine. Maybe for this keys required manual configuration?
5. A wish: in old Nautilus was a button to switch address line from "buttons" format to "text edit" format. In latest versions of Gnome2 Nautilus have not this button and switching the address line formats is long operation. This button allow very fast switch address line formats. Can you add this button back to Caja, like in old Nautilus?

Thank you.

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:18 pm
by earlwho
Mate is really great, especially for it being "in the works" and so new. I'm very pleased with it's progress. A few irritants but nothing very major. Keep up the good work. I'm sure as Mate usage expands, more help will be coming.

Earl

Re: Some small bugs/wishes

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:23 am
by Rowen
AlexSL wrote:Hello.
5. A wish: in old Nautilus was a button to switch address line from "buttons" format to "text edit" format. In latest versions of Gnome2 Nautilus have not this button and switching the address line formats is long operation. This button allow very fast switch address line formats. Can you add this button back to Caja, like in old Nautilus?
You can do this, go to the Menu > All Applications > System Tools > Configuration Editor

Then apps > caja > preferences

Then mark always_use_location_entry , and there you have it. Location bar for the navigation menu.

Re: Some small bugs/wishes

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:05 am
by AlexSL
Rowen wrote: You can do this, go to the Menu > All Applications > System Tools > Configuration Editor

Then apps > caja > preferences

Then mark always_use_location_entry , and there you have it. Location bar for the navigation menu.
I know this way. I mean this way as long and not easy way. In old Nautilus I can do this in one mouse click. One mouse click to switch to use_location_entry, and one mouse click to switch back to buttons.
I long time use Ubuntu 8.04 hardy with Gnome 2.x desktop environment. In this old version Nautilus have this switch button.
It is not very important for me and this is not bug, but for me it is useful if this button added back in Caja.

Another one question: have Mate official bug tracker? Or I can post bugs only in this forum?

Re: Some small bugs/wishes

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:56 pm
by kmb42vt
AlexSL wrote:
Rowen wrote: You can do this, go to the Menu > All Applications > System Tools > Configuration Editor

Then apps > caja > preferences

Then mark always_use_location_entry , and there you have it. Location bar for the navigation menu.
I know this way. I mean this way as long and not easy way. In old Nautilus I can do this in one mouse click. One mouse click to switch to use_location_entry, and one mouse click to switch back to buttons.
I long time use Ubuntu 8.04 hardy with Gnome 2.x desktop environment. In this old version Nautilus have this switch button.
It is not very important for me and this is not bug, but for me it is useful if this button added back in Caja.

Another one question: have Mate official bug tracker? Or I can post bugs only in this forum?
You can use this forum thread and you can create an account at both Launchpad and "github" (where the MATE code is being developed and feedback is gathered according to what distro it's installed on). Then you can leave feedback at Mint's Launchpad account:

https://launchpad.net/linuxmint

Choose "Bugs" and click on the "Advance search" link on the bugs page. Then locate and check the box next to "Linux Mint lisa-stable" and it will show you all bugs related to Linux Mint 12. You'll want to check this list in order to see if your problem has already been reported.

...and/or MATE's github "Issues" page (You'll see that submitted issues pertaining specifically to MATE in Linux Mint are highlighted in green):

https://github.com/perberos/mate-deskto ... ent/issues

MATE's main developer first post on this thread also lists the link top Mate's thread on Ubuntu forums as well.

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 4:17 pm
by perberos
Hello there. I fixed the keybinding problem. It was a recently GTK update that broke the key detect code. Now it work fine. The version with the fix is in mate-control-center and mate-settings-daemon on 2011.12.08

I hope they update.

Re: Some small bugs/wishes

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 4:34 pm
by perberos
AlexSL wrote:1. In Caja file manager, in context menu, I do not see "Open in terminal" menu command (for open current folder in terminal).
in the package mate-file-manager-open-terminal
AlexSL wrote:2. When I open man-pages in mate-terminal, I can't scroll by mouse wheel, but in gnome-terminal it works.
I can scroll by mouse wheel in mate-terminal on man pages.
AlexSL wrote:3. Do not work stickynotes applet for panel (it work in gnome2).
Stickynotes is in mate-applets package.
AlexSL wrote:4. Do not work media keys on my keyboard, for example volume-up and volume-down keys. In gnome2 this keys work fine. Maybe for this keys required manual configuration?
Please, try update with the 2011.12.08 version (I think today I fixed it)
AlexSL wrote:5. A wish: in old Nautilus was a button to switch address line from "buttons" format to "text edit" format. In latest versions of Gnome2 Nautilus have not this button and switching the address line formats is long operation. This button allow very fast switch address line formats. Can you add this button back to Caja, like in old Nautilus?
I was thinking in add it. But I am lazy. You can press CTRL+L to switch text path.

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 8:02 pm
by AlexSL
perberos, thanks for your answer.
I have Mate installed from Linux Mint repository. Maybe this is older version of Mate. Maybe my problems because this is old version.
I hope the Linux Mint Team make update for Mate in their repository.

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:12 pm
by kmb42vt
AlexSL wrote:perberos, thanks for your answer.
I have Mate installed from Linux Mint repository. Maybe this is older version of Mate. Maybe my problems because this is old version.
I hope the Linux Mint Team make update for Mate in their repository.
They (Mint) have been making updates to MATE as soon as they have time to package the updates and upload them to the update servers. So yes, they're going to be a bit behind the latest fixes by 'perberos' but they'll come soon enough. I think it took about a week after perberos's last set of fixes before they came in as updates to Linux Mint 12. Perhaps someday we might get a PPA for MATE? :wink: :D

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 7:59 pm
by kleeman
Perebos

Congratulations on your MATE project. I am very impressed by how quickly you have got this working. One thing I am missing in Mint MATE is the panel applets Invest and Weather. Go you know what their status is in MATE? If these were made available I would switch to MATE full time as my desktop.....

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 1:27 pm
by LexMK
http://i42.tinypic.com/ivbr0l.png

Here's my desktop using Mate on Mint 12

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:50 am
by perberos
kleeman wrote:One thing I am missing in Mint MATE is the panel applets Invest and Weather. Go you know what their status is in MATE?
Weather applet is on mate-applet.
Invest applet is on mate-applet too, but it do not work.

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:36 am
by kleeman
perberos wrote:
kleeman wrote:One thing I am missing in Mint MATE is the panel applets Invest and Weather. Go you know what their status is in MATE?
Weather applet is on mate-applet.
Invest applet is on mate-applet too, but it do not work.
Thanks. Yes I thought that was the situation by looking at the git repository. The mate-applet package appears to be missing from the Mint repository at present. Compatibility issues with gnome?

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:21 am
by AlexSL
Can I use your repository http://mate.karapetsas.com/ to update Mate desktop as alternative to LinuxMint repository?

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:03 am
by stefano-k
AlexSL wrote:Can I use your repository http://mate.karapetsas.com/ to update Mate desktop as alternative to LinuxMint repository?
Yes. The repositories are compatible. Use oneiric if you use Lisa, sid if you use LMDE.

Code: Select all

deb http://tridex.net/repo/ubuntu/ oneiric main
deb http://tridex.net/repo/debian/ sid main

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:26 pm
by zerozero
hello stefano-k,
welcome to the Mint forum 8)
we have a topic :) with your repo and LMDE here
you are very welcome to join us in there if you feel like it;

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:17 pm
by stefano-k
zerozero wrote:hello stefano-k,
welcome to the Mint forum 8)
thanks :)

Re: Mate Desktop Environment - GNOME2 fork

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:41 pm
by tux-sven
In my MATE-word the most annoying things are:

1. CPU usage too high, which makes other programs perform too slow.
Steaming video is hacking)
(Compiz activated)
2. I have no system monitor applet (There are several less applet-programs than in LM 10)
3. System complains directly if I select Theme the way I should like to have it.
4. No "Open file as administrator" (root) in Caja.
5. No "Calculate MD5" in Caja.
6. The resize-corner-symbol at right of the Panel. (Can't see the right arrow)

Are those things anything someone is working with?? :roll:

/Sven