Cannot move Virtual Box VM windows?

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
dorlow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 6:18 pm

Cannot move Virtual Box VM windows?

Post by dorlow »

Ok, this is weird. It started a week or so ago. Once I start up a virual box vm, even though it's a window, I cannot drag and move it. I can double click on the top bar and it expands and goes back to a window. But, as a window, I cannot drag the window anywhere.

I tried using timeline to roll my computer back a week and that didn't help

I just uninstalled virtualbox and reinstalled it and have the same issue.

I noticed yesterday as I was trying to move it by clicking a ton of times, all the sudden the mintmenu process crashed. I noticed, right after that, I could move a VM for a split second. Seemed to be I had one shot at moving the window. So, I then went into the terminal and got the PID for mintmenu and killed it again and I was able to move the VM window once more for a split second.

I rolled back my timeline to a week ago. It should've been well before the problem started. (I use VMs daily on my PC.) And, to be clear, this only happens for VMs. If I have other windows open like a terminal or a web browser, those move just fine.
ajgreeny
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1321
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:27 pm

Re: Cannot move Virtual Box VM windows?

Post by ajgreeny »

What version of VBox and how did you install it?
What is the host OS, and what is the guest OS? I assume the guest is Mint, but which version

When I used VBox I always used the repos direct from the VBox website all the information for which you can find in the Debian-based Linux distributions section of https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads
I am not sure if the Guest Additions, should you use them, will have any bearing on your problem but if you do install them it is essential that you make sure the GA are exactly the same version as your VBox installation; installing VBox direct from their own repos will ensure that is the case.

I am now not using VBox but KVM/QEMU instead which I find much better, though perhaps a little more complicated to get used to at first.
dorlow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: Cannot move Virtual Box VM windows?

Post by dorlow »

Just noticed a new symptom. If I move another window, such as the file manager, I can then move the vm one time also. Weird.
dorlow
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: Cannot move Virtual Box VM windows?

Post by dorlow »

I just reinstalled virtualbox from the software manager. My host is Linux Mint. I have 3 Windows VMs. I am also building a Linux Mint VM right now and it's doing the same thing. The OS is still installing at the moment, and it's doing the same thing.
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10794
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Cannot move Virtual Box VM windows?

Post by AndyMH »

You need to install the extension pack in VB and guest-additions in the VM.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 4 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 20.1, 2 x i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
User avatar
The Muffin Man
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2022 5:31 pm
Location: Drury Lane, NC

Re: Cannot move Virtual Box VM windows?

Post by The Muffin Man »

...and as ajgreeny suggested, install from https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads
"Go ahead. I don't shop here."
Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”