Top panel stuck

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
R0mai
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 5:31 pm

Top panel stuck

Postby R0mai » Sun May 27, 2012 5:56 pm

Hi guys!

I just installed Mint with Cinamon, and I have a little annoyance with it.
When some pop-up message window should disappear, a big grey blank window gets stuck on the top of the screen. (see screenshot)
It is "only" visible, that is I can click "through" it, but it is very annoying.

What could cause it, and how to get rid of it?

Thanks for your help!

Screenshot:
Sc.png
Sc.png (157.37 KiB) Viewed 943 times

User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7650
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Top panel stuck

Postby remoulder » Mon May 28, 2012 10:48 am

This is not the top panel but appears to be some pop-up or notification. If it only appears when running firefox, it's probably a pop-up.
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.

R0mai
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: Top panel stuck

Postby R0mai » Mon May 28, 2012 12:58 pm

It mostly appeared while running Eclipse, but it appeared for other applications as well.
Closing applications didn't help, restarting the whole GUI helped, (but of course that isn't a very good solution).

Today, I've been using it for hours, without them appearing, so I think it magically repaired itself. I hope it doesn't came back :)

sepul
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:36 pm

Re: Top panel stuck

Postby sepul » Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:38 am

have the same problem here too
any solutions ?

- using cinnamon 1.4.0

R0mai
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: Top panel stuck

Postby R0mai » Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:47 am

I have found a workaround : on the top: Troubleshoot/Restart cinamon. This will restart cinamon, only takes a few seconds and the buggy panels disappears.

dentex
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 3:45 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Top panel stuck

Postby dentex » Mon Oct 01, 2012 6:30 am

Yes, I have the same issue and doing CTRL+F2 then "r" and ENTER restarts cinnamon and solve the annoyance; or, as in my case the box appears on Firefox, just closing and restarting Firefox only solve the issue the same way.

Any news about a stable workaround?

CIAO.


Return to “Cinnamon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests