Page 2 of 3

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 6:35 am
by lurkatron
veggen wrote:And now we got Cinnamon 1.6!
But I've read it won't be available for Maya through the usual channels any time soon...
hmm so is it safe to install on maya via the daily ppa or is there a stable ppa somewhere i wonder?

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:07 am
by Rehdon
veggen wrote:And now we got Cinnamon 1.6!
But I've read it won't be available for Maya through the usual channels any time soon...
Great news! Except the part where we have to wait if we want it on Maya ;)
lurkatron wrote:hmm so is it safe to install on maya via the daily ppa or is there a stable ppa somewhere i wonder?
I'd definitely wait for the stable PPA.

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 9:49 am
by lurkatron
1.6officially released then http://cinnamon.linuxmint.com/?p=207

no info about how to install it..

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 10:36 am
by veggen
I didn't dare upgrade from nightlies (so I'm still running 1.5.8, which works swimmingly on Maya), but I really expect no problems. I'll try today in a live session maybe or something like that...

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:07 am
by zerozero
here http://cinnamon.linuxmint.com/?p=207#comment-3265
very soon in maya and lmde (in the romeo section)

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:15 am
by lurkatron

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 12:28 pm
by zerozero

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:25 am
by Rehdon
Anybody upgraded via the Romeo packages? Any problems? (don't want to sound over-cautious, but my LM 13 install is my working environment ;)

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:59 am
by lurkatron
yeah i got it via romeo and had no problems except a couple of things on my panel suddenly were in odd places but that was easy to fix

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:24 am
by veggen
Upgraded from Romeo as well and no problems so far. Computer/Home/mounted devices icons on the desktop were turned off, but it was a second to fix.
Not sure if the themes are working well, because I'm boring and use the default one :P

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:36 am
by Rehdon
Ok, I made the jump and I'm currently suffering from a couple of hiccups, nothing really serious but a bit annoying:

1. Icon names' color on the desktop is now a dark grey instead of white, unfit both for light and dark backgrounds (I think I saw this mentioned elsewhere, will check the thread);

2. some shortcuts, namely the "Go to workspace n", don't work anymore, which is weird: I've them set on F1 to F4, worked perfectly fine before the upgrade.

Also Nemo stopped and didn't restart automatically at a poin, had to launch it from terminal. Any ideas?

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:34 pm
by Rehdon
Solved point n. 2: you have to use dconf-editor to set the desired shortcut ... >_<

Found a new little hiccup: Cinnamon freezes for about 3-4 seconds, then starts again as if nothing had happened. Seems to happen more frequently when I plug in/out USB keys. Anybody's seen this?

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:14 pm
by Biciclettapc
I'm having a hard time getting things upgraded. Any assistance to a noob appreciated!

Error message
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bicicletta ... hotostream

Paul

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:23 pm
by zerozero
Paul
Q: why are d/ling the debs and installing with gdebi? cinnamon 1.6 is in maya's and lmde repos; if you are using an older release it won't work; if you are using ubuntu 12.04 or 12.10 there'a stable ppa with it;

so what is the output of

Code: Select all

inxi -Sr
and

Code: Select all

apt policy cinnamon

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:58 pm
by Biciclettapc
ZeroZero
Because I am a noob :) I have no other excuse. If its not obvious my command is real basic,

Here is the codes:

Code: Select all

Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 36.0C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list
           deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ maya main upstream import
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise-security main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ precise partner
           deb http://packages.medibuntu.org/ precise free non-free
           deb http://archive.removed/ubuntu precise-removed apps
           deb-src http://archive.removed/ubuntu precise-removed apps
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/a-v-shkop-chromium-precise.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/a-v-shkop/chromium/ubuntu precise main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/a-v-shkop/chromium/ubuntu precise main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/format-junkie-team-release-precise.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/format-junkie-team/release/ubuntu precise main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/format-junkie-team/release/ubuntu precise main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
           deb http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/gwendal-lebihan-dev-cinnamon-stable-precise.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/gwendal-lebihan-dev/cinnamon-stable/ubuntu precise main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/gwendal-lebihan-dev/cinnamon-stable/ubuntu precise main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/tomahawk-ppa-precise.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/tomahawk/ppa/ubuntu precise main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/tomahawk/ppa/ubuntu precise main
and

Code: Select all

apt policy cinnamon
cinnamon:
  Installed: 1.4-UP3
  Candidate: 1.4-UP3
  Version table:
     1.6.0-0ubuntu1~precise1 0
        500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/gwendal-lebihan-dev/cinnamon-stable/ubuntu/ precise/main amd64 Packages
 *** 1.4-UP3 0
        700 http://packages.linuxmint.com/ maya/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 7:04 pm
by zerozero
:D aren't we all?
you don't need this ppa anymore

Code: Select all

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/gwendal-lebihan-dev/cinnamon-stable/ubuntu precise main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/gwendal-lebihan-dev/cinnamon-stable/ubuntu precise main
you can safely remove it and then follow this http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2177 to enable romeo and get cinnamon 1.6

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 7:23 pm
by Biciclettapc
ZeroZero,

Thanks! That was too easy :)

I feel like I need to copy and paste some code though :lol:

Paul

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:58 am
by jupiter66
Cinnamon 1.6.1 installed here on maya 64 bit (with nighntly ppa). Cinnamon is my best option with Mint right now, but:

1) Still have memory leaks after few days of use (ram used by cinnamon+xorg increased about 200 Mb even if I closed everything, and it's not finished...). The only applets I use are the menu and expo (0 pixel panel with nothing on it as I use a dock). Yes, it's better than 1.4, but I hope they still work on memory leaks...

2) the recently edge flipping feature is useless for me. Is it planned to introduce a real "flip when moving window" (with no delay) thing?

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:43 am
by zeke
jupiter66 wrote:
1) Still have memory leaks after few days of use (ram used by cinnamon+xorg increased about 200 Mb even if I closed everything, and it's not finished...). The only applets I use are the menu and expo (0 pixel panel with nothing on it as I use a dock). Yes, it's better than 1.4, but I hope they still work on memory leaks...
I will second this comment. We typically have three users logged in and after awhile we have ~1GB used just by cinnamon+xorg w/o periodically restarting.

Re: Any news on Cinnamon?

Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:31 pm
by johnnynull
zerozero wrote:Paul
Q: why are d/ling the debs and installing with gdebi? cinnamon 1.6 is in maya's and lmde repos <snip>
I'm sorry, does this mean that I should have 1.6 now? I'm still at 1.4, after UP5. I'm afraid I'm more familiar with Arch's rolling model. Did I miss something?