Desktop reverted to GNOME2 defaults: How to reset to Cinammo

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
lduperval
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 10:55 am

Desktop reverted to GNOME2 defaults: How to reset to Cinammo

Post by lduperval »

Hello,

A couple of weeks ago, I did an upgrade from Lisa to Maya (11 to 13). Everything seemed OK except for a problem with dovecot (messages never get deleted; this is still not fixed) and the nVidia driver.

I upgraded the nVidia driver to use the one provided by nVidia, and after I did so, my desktop seems to have changed., instead of having the default setupo provided by cinammon, I now have some sort of partial installation of my previous GNOME2 setup.

How do I change things back to using the Cinnamon desktop? I did select Cinnamon when I logged in but I am still not seeing the correct desktop look and feel.

Thanks,

L
lduperval
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 10:55 am

Re: Desktop reverted to GNOME2 defaults: How to reset to Cin

Post by lduperval »

I am using the current nVidia drivers (295.40), as I was using before. I never had a problem with them before. Originally, the default (nouveau?) driver was in use. However, i tried to use an application and got a GL error. When I read up on it, the solution was to use the nVidia driver instead of the nouveau driver.

The card is GeForce 7150M / nForce 630M/integrated/SSE2 (according to the System Details)

L
Rehdon
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:18 am

Re: Desktop reverted to GNOME2 defaults: How to reset to Cin

Post by Rehdon »

If you are on Maya (LM 13) you should have v. 295.49 as package nvidia-current-updates: have you tried upgrading to that?
lduperval
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 10:55 am

Re: Desktop reverted to GNOME2 defaults: How to reset to Cin

Post by lduperval »

Thanks. That solved it.

L
Rehdon
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:18 am

Re: Desktop reverted to GNOME2 defaults: How to reset to Cin

Post by Rehdon »

Glad it works now :)
Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”