Page 1 of 1

Nomachine NX+Cinnamon

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:24 am
by gianola
Hi, this is Luis from Spain,

I've installed Mint 14 Cinnamon in my HTPC. I had Mint 13 XFCE before, and I was using Nomachine NX to connect to the box with no issues.

I can connect to the new system, but only a button with no text is shown on screen and the windows closes when I click on it.

This is my system's .xsession-errors content:

Xsession: X session started for htpc at jue nov 29 11:21:20 CET 2012
localuser:htpc being added to access control list
Setting IM through im-switch for locale=es_ES.
Start IM through /etc/X11/xinit/xinput.d/all_ALL linked to /etc/X11/xinit/xinput.d/default.
Failed to connect to the VirtualBox kernel service
Failed to connect to the VirtualBox kernel service
Failed to connect to the VirtualBox kernel service
Failed to connect to the VirtualBox kernel service
gnome-session[7923]: WARNING: GSIdleMonitor: IDLETIME counter not found


I've been searching through the internet without success, can you help me?

Thank you in advance.

Re: Nomachine NX+Cinnamon

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:30 am
by stratus_ss
for the cinnamon desktop you need to set the custom desktop option in nx

under Custom Settings, select "run the following command" and put

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/gnome-session-cinnamon
in there. You should now be good to go

Re: Nomachine NX+Cinnamon

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:27 am
by gianola
I've finally managed to resolve it as said in this blog:

http://www.saicharan.in/blog/2012/04/29 ... on-ubuntu/

I don't have Cinnamon's new functions, but at least I can connect to my computer. Now I don't see any text, the same issue as:

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 95#p653695

Re: Nomachine NX+Cinnamon

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:34 am
by stratus_ss
I never had to do any config editing... but whatever works for you i suppose. I simply told it i was using a custom desktop as mentioned above

Re: Nomachine NX+Cinnamon

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:51 pm
by gianola
Sorry, Stratus_ss, I didn't see your message when I posted my reply. I have tried what you say, and I see the same problem. It seems there is a bug in libcairo2, It needs to be downgraded as discussed here:

http://r3dux.org/2012/07/how-to-downgra ... ix-evince/

Do you have the same problem?

Re: Nomachine NX+Cinnamon

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 2:47 am
by Jess1313
Can anyone post instructions on how to downgrade that package? I have found multiple results on how to downgrade a package but they all say to use synaptic and the "force version" option. However the only 2 versions I see available are 1.12 and 1.12.u2, and it appears we need 1.10. It would be really great to see this fixed, but if a downgrade will work for now I just need to know how.