How to add "optirun" to icon in menu?

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
CreamCorn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 10:24 pm

How to add "optirun" to icon in menu?

Postby CreamCorn » Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:40 pm

Mint 14 with Cinnamon 1.6 and Bumblebee 3.0.

Some programs, like Singularity, run better from terminal if I run it like this:

Code: Select all

optirun ./singularity


When I look at the Cinnamon Menu, the command to start Singularity looks like:

Code: Select all

/opt/Singularity-x86_64-1.7.3.3624/singularity


How can I add the "optirun" to the start command in the Cinnamon menu, so that programs like Singularity, Heroes of Newerth, Firestorm, Blender, Free CAD, Second Life, 0 A.D. etc can run with Bumblebee?

Thanks!

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19683
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How to add "optirun" to icon in menu?

Postby xenopeek » Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:44 pm

Open a terminal, type:

Code: Select all

which optirun

It will return the full path of the optirun program. Copy that. Then right-click the menu button and choose edit menu. Then browse to to program you want to start with optirun from the menu, and highlight it, then click the properties button. Insert the full path of the optirun program in the command field. So if the command currently reads:

Code: Select all

/opt/Singularity-x86_64-1.7.3.3624/singularity

change that to:

Code: Select all

/where/ever/is/optirun /opt/Singularity-x86_64-1.7.3.3624/singularity
Image

CreamCorn
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 10:24 pm

Re: How to add "optirun" to icon in menu?

Postby CreamCorn » Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:54 pm

That worked brilliantly, thank you!!! :D


Return to “Cinnamon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests