I Completely Borked Cinnamon.

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
User avatar
InkKnife
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 591
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:24 pm

I Completely Borked Cinnamon.

Postby InkKnife » Sat Oct 26, 2013 9:45 pm

Like a bird drawn to a shiny object I could not resist doing a PPA install of Cinnamon 2.0.
Dispite all the bad reports I still did it.
Running Mint15, is there any way to just purge Cinnamon and reinstall?
My good old PC:
Core2quad@2.33, 6GB Ram, Radeon HD 6850. Mint 18 Cinnamon edition. Now with an SSD!! Zoooom! LM18/Cinnamon.

User avatar
nomko
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3030
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: I Completely Borked Cinnamon.

Postby nomko » Thu Oct 31, 2013 11:58 am

Do you want to reinstall the original Cinnamon which came with Mint 15? That's easy:

In synaptic:
remove Cinnamon 2.0
remove the PPA of Cinnamon 2.0
reload all packages
reinstall the original cinnamon

User avatar
InkKnife
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 591
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: I Completely Borked Cinnamon.

Postby InkKnife » Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:41 pm

nomko wrote:Do you want to reinstall the original Cinnamon which came with Mint 15? That's easy:

In synaptic:
remove Cinnamon 2.0
remove the PPA of Cinnamon 2.0
reload all packages
reinstall the original cinnamon

Ya, I already did that and the removal failed with a report of irreparable packages. I can deal with using XFCE till Mint16 next month.
Live and learn.
My good old PC:
Core2quad@2.33, 6GB Ram, Radeon HD 6850. Mint 18 Cinnamon edition. Now with an SSD!! Zoooom! LM18/Cinnamon.

JosephM
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 525
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: I Completely Borked Cinnamon.

Postby JosephM » Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:43 pm

I have been using the cinnamon nightlies for a couple months without issues. In fact I just did a fresh install two days ago and added them and they work fine. Over the past weekend there were some build errors for the ppa on launchpad that would leave you stuck in fallback mode after an update. They seem to be working fine again now.


Return to “Cinnamon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest