Opening Nemo without its embedded Terminal

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon on:
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon
Post Reply
gonzo28
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:37 pm

Opening Nemo without its embedded Terminal

Post by gonzo28 »

Hello,

when you press F4 in nemo you get a terminal line which is very handy. I can let it disappear by pressing F4 again. But when I close nemo and restart it, the terminal window is still there. I can't deactivate it permanent...

How can I do that?

catch22
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:50 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Opening Nemo without its embedded Terminal

Post by catch22 »

Nemo on my pc doesn't do anything with F4.
Maybe you meant Nautilus instead of Nemo?
done with distro-hopping! Linux Mint desktop / Bunsen Labs netbook

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9908
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Opening Nemo without its embedded Terminal

Post by altair4 »

Or Dolphin in KDE.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

lurkatron
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: Opening Nemo without its embedded Terminal

Post by lurkatron »

you need nemo-terminal installed for this, uninstall it and the terminal is gone.
you can however still have an 'open in terminal' button in nemo if you got to edit>preferences>toolbar

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5400
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Opening Nemo without its embedded Terminal

Post by killer de bug »

gonzo28 wrote: But when I close nemo and restart it, the terminal window is still there. I can't deactivate it permanent...
How can I do that?
Normally you can create a config file in your home folder with this setting:

Code: Select all

gedit ~/.nemo-terminal
And you should place this inside:

Code: Select all

[general]
#The terminal height (lines)
def_term_height=5
#The terminal default visibility in new windows? (1: Visible, 0: Hidden)
def_visible=0
#The terminal position (1: Top, 0: Bottom)
#NOTE: it's not recommended to put the terminal on the bottom
term_on_top=1

[terminal]
#The shell to use (Nemo Terminal use the user's defined shell by default)
shell=/bin/bash
But last time I tried, it was not working (on LMDE2). Try on your system and let me know.
http://www.webupd8.org/2011/10/nautilus ... -with.html
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3049
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Opening Nemo without its embedded Terminal

Post by Monsta »

The configuration is available via dconf-editor at org > nemo > extensions > nemo-terminal.

gonzo28
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:37 pm

Re: Opening Nemo without its embedded Terminal

Post by gonzo28 »

lurkatron wrote:you need nemo-terminal installed for this, uninstall it and the terminal is gone.
you can however still have an 'open in terminal' button in nemo if you got to edit>preferences>toolbar
Thank you!

Post Reply

Return to “Cinnamon”